Sierra Leone Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sierra Leone)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone Wiki Topics
Flag of Sierra Leone.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Sierra Leone Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Sierra Leone ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Sierra Leone is a country in Africa bordered by Guinea and Liberia. English is the de facto official language, and Krio is the most widely spoken.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Sierra Leone Research

Links to articles on getting started with Sierra Leone research.

Sierra Leone Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Sierra Leone research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Sierra Leone Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Sierra Leone. Sierra Leone Districts.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Sierra Leone. Provinces, districts, and areas:[1]

District Capital Area km2 Province Population
(2004 census)[2]
Population
(2010 estimates)
Bombali District Makeni 7,985 Northern
Province
408,390 434,319[3]
Koinadugu District Kabala 12,121 265,758 251,091[4]
Port Loko District Port Loko 5,719 453,746 500,992[4]
Tonkolili District Magburaka 7,003 347,197 385,322[5]
Kambia District Kambia 3,108 270,462 313,765[6]
Kenema District Kenema 6,053 Eastern
Province
497,948 545,327[7]
Kono District Koidu Town 5,641 335,401 352,328[8]
Kailahun District Kailahun 3,859 358,190 409,520[8]
Bo District Bo 5,219 Southern
Province
463,668 561,524[9]
Bonthe District Mattru Jong 3,468 139,687 140,845[10]
Pujehun District Pujehun 4,105 228,392 252,390
Moyamba District Moyamba 6,902 260,910 252,390
Western Area Urban District Freetown 13 Western
Area
772,873 1,473,873
Western Area Rural District Waterloo 544 174,249 205,400

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Wikipedia contributors, "Sierra Leone," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sierra_Leone, accessed 22 April 2016.
  2. "Final Results 2004 population and housing census" (PDF). Statistics Sierra Leone. p. 3. http://www.sierra-leone.org/Census/ssl_final_results.pdf. Retrieved 2014-06-17. 
  3. "Bombali – profile of geographical entity including name variants". World Gazetteer. Archived from the original on 11 January 2012. https://web.archive.org/20120111130941/http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.php?x=&men=gpro&lng=en&des=wg&srt=npan&col=adhoq&msz=1500&geo=-6636. Retrieved 20 May 2012. 
  4. 4.0 4.1 "Port Loko". World-gazetteer.com. Archived from the original on 11 January 2012. https://web.archive.org/20120111130027/http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.php?x=&men=gpro&lng=en&des=wg&srt=npan&col=adhoq&msz=1500&geo=-6644. Retrieved 20 May 2012. 
  5. "Tonkolili – profile of geographical entity including name variants". World Gazetteer. Archived from the original on 25 March 2012. https://web.archive.org/20120325091059/http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.php?x=&men=gpro&lng=en&des=wg&srt=npan&col=adhoq&msz=1500&geo=-6647. Retrieved 20 May 2012. 
  6. "Kambia – profile of geographical entity including name variants". World Gazetteer. Archived from the original on 11 January 2012. https://web.archive.org/20120111130853/http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.php?x=&men=gpro&lng=en&des=wg&srt=npan&col=adhoq&msz=1500&geo=-6639. Retrieved 20 May 2012. 
  7. "Kenema – profile of geographical entity including name variants". World Gazetteer. Archived from the original on 11 January 2012. https://web.archive.org/20120111124545/http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.php?x=&men=gpro&lng=en&des=wg&srt=npan&col=adhoq&msz=1500&geo=-6640. Retrieved 20 May 2012. 
  8. 8.0 8.1 "Kailahun – profile of geographical entity including name variants". World Gazetteer. Archived from the original on 11 January 2012. https://web.archive.org/20120111123401/http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.php?x=&men=gpro&lng=en&des=wg&srt=npan&col=adhoq&msz=1500&geo=-6638. Retrieved 20 May 2012. 
  9. "Bo – profile of geographical entity including name variants". World Gazetteer. Archived from the original on 7 April 2012. https://web.archive.org/20120407025326/http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.php?x=&men=gpro&lng=en&des=wg&srt=npan&col=adhoq&msz=1500&geo=-6635. Retrieved 20 May 2012. 
  10. "Bonthe". World-gazetteer.com. http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.php?x=&men=gpro&lng=en&des=wg&srt=npan&col=adhoq&msz=1500&geo=-6637. Retrieved 20 May 2012.