Sint Maarten Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sint Maarten)
Jump to: navigation, search

Netherlands Gotoarrow.png Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Netherlands Antilles Gotoarrow.png Sint Maarten

Sint Maarten Wiki Topics
Flag of Sint Maarten.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Sint Maarten Background
Local Research Resources


See also Netherlands Antilles (dissolved in 2010).

Guide to Sint Maarten ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Sint Maarten/Saint Martin is an island country in the Caribbean whose nearest neighbors are Saba, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Barthelemy, Sint Eustatius, Saint Martin, and Anguilla. The southern Dutch half of the island comprises the Eilandgebied Sint Maarten (Island area of St. Martin) and was formerly part of the Netherlands Antilles dissolved in 2010. Sint Maarten is now a constituent country of The Netherlands. The northern French half of the island comprises the Collectivité de Saint-Martin (Collectivity of St. Martin) and is an overseas collectivity of France. The official languages are Dutch and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Sint Maarten Research

Links to articles on getting started with Sint Maarten research.

Sint Maarten Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Sint Maarten research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Sint Maarten Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Sint Maarten.

Saint martin map.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Sint Maarten. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

  • Philipsburg (capital)
  • Lower Prince's Quarter
  • Cul de Sac
  • Cole Bay
  • Upper Prince's Quarter
  • Little Bay (Fort Amsterdam)
  • Simpson Bay
  • Lowlands

Simpsonbay, Madame Estate, Dutch Cul-de-sac, Dutch Quarter, Cole Bay, Oyster pond, South Reward, Saint-Peters, Pointe-Blanche, Middle Region, Cay hill, Upper Prince's Quarter and Lower Prince's Quarter.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Sint Maarten," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sint_Maarten, accessed 22 April 2016.