Skæve Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Denmark Gotoarrow.pngHjørring County Gotoarrow.pngSkæve

Guide to Skæve, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Add here
Jurisdictions
Stift Add here
Pastorat Add here
Amt 1662 - 1793 Børglum
Amt 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred Dronninglund
Kommune Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 4
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 34
Retskreds Add here
Skifteretten Add here
Gods Add here


Place Names

Aftenbakken, Aftenkrog, Avnkødt, Avnkødt Vandmølle

Bakkebo, Bakkely, Bakken, Barkholt, Birkebo, Birkely, Birket, Birket Huse, Birketsminde, Bollebakken, Bollebæk, Bollehøj, Boller, Bomhøje, Brohuset, Brønden, Brøndenskro, Bundgaard, Byrdal, Baas, Bækgaard, Bøjested, Bøjestederne

Christiansminde

Damsig, Digemose, Dværghøj, Dybvad, Dybvad Hovedgaard

Egeværksted, Elmelund, Engholm

Fejborg, Fjemb Bro, Fladkær, Frederiksminde, Føltved

Grønbakke, Guldbæk

Hammerværksted, Heden, Hejselt, Holtet, Hugdrup, Hugdrup Fælled, Hugdrupgaard, Hugdrup Mark, Hytten, Højen

Karlsminde, Karmisholt, Karmissig, Knudseje, Knudseje Vandmølle, Kongesig, Krogen, Krogsdam, Kærsgaard

Langeslund, Langesodde, Langholt, Langholtmark, Langmose, Langmose Bjerge, Ledet, Lille Birket, Lille Brønden, Lille Føltved, Lille Mølholt, Lille Nejsum, Lille Raaholt, Lille Vrængmose, Lovsig, Lydbæk, Lykkebo, Lykkesholm

Mellergaard, Miller Skov, Molbjerg Mark, Mosen, Mølbakke, Mølhave

Nejsum, Nejsum Hede, Nejsum Skov, Nejsum Vestermark, Ny Barkholt, Nyborg, Nymølle, Nymølle Bæk, Nymøllesminde, Nøddebakken, Nørre Hytten, Nørre Nejsum, Nørrelund, Nørvang

Ovnstrup, Ovnstrup Bæk, Ovnstrup Hede, Ovnstrupholt, Ovnstrup Mark, Ovnstruplund

Palmersbro, Palmersminde

Ravnsholt, Rugholm, Rævebakker, Rønholt, Raaholt, Raaholt Huse

Sillebakke, Skellet, Skovfogedgaard, Skæve, Skævebro, Skæveled, Smaagaarde, Snurren, Solholt, Solholt Mark, Spaanbæk, Spaanhede, Stagsted, Stagsted Hede, Stagsted Mark, Stagstedlund, Stagsted Skov, Stendal, Stensholt, Store Mølholt, Store Nejsum, Store Vrængmose, Svampen, Svarrehus, Sønder Hytten, Sønder Krogsdam, Sønder Ravnsholt, Søparken

Taunsig, Tophede, Topperholt Bakke, Topperhus, Tranegilde Mark, Træholt, Tuebakken, Tuen, Tværhøj, Tøsbæk, Tøsbækgaard

Vester Barkholt, Vester Mellergaarde, Vester Træholt, Vesterskov, Vrængmose

Øghave, Ørvad, Øster Barkholt, Øster Føltved, Øster Mellergaard, Øster Træholt, Øster Vrængmose

Aalegaardsodde, Aarkeled

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Albæk, Hellevad, Hellum, Hørby, Jerslev, Torslev, Voer

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.