Skephult parish, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Skephult parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden►
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names:
- 3 Collections
- 4 Related Sources
- 5 Collections
- 5.1 Census Records
- 5.2 Church Records
- 5.3 Military Records
- 5.4 Related Sources
- 5.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 5.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 5.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 5.8 Societies and Libraries
- 5.9 References:
History(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
|Militär indelning||add here|
Backen, Björkelund, Björkesbacken, Björkåsen, Björnholmen, Björnåsen, Björstorp, Bläshult, Borghult Nedregården, Borghult Övregården, Botten, Brobacken, Buared, Bäckabo
Ekåsen under Backen, Ekåsen under Högsshult, Ekåsen under Skepphult, Enåsen
Fagergrenstorp, Fagerhult, Freared, Furlund, Furusten, Fäbrohult
Hagen, Hederna under Borghult Nedregården, Hederna under Högshult Övregården, Hunnaryd, Hässlehult Nedregården, Hässlehult Övregården, Hästhagen under Backen, Hästhagen under Skepphult, Högelid, Högshult Nedregården, Högshult Övregården
Kalvhagen, Klockaregården, Kolabotten, Källebergshed, Källekullen, Källekärr, Källsholm, Kärret
Lammåsen, Lindåsen, Nakersjö, Nedregården Borghult, Nedregården Hässlehult, Nedregården Högshult, Nedregården Skappared, Nybo, Nyhemmet, Näset
Sjölyckan, Skeppared Nedregården, Skeppared Västergården, Skeppared Övregården, Skepphult, Skepphult Klockaregården, Skårhult, Stamhult, Svedjan, Svenstorp
Vällingebacka, Vännered, Västergården Skeppared
Åsen under Backen, Åsen under Dängevik, Åsen under Skeppared Västergården, Åstorp
Övregården Borghult, Övregården Hässlehult, Övregården Högshult, Övregården Skeppared
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
(write information about the different collections, or tips on using them)
- Church Records
- Court Records
- Military Records
A book entitled "Soldater i Skephults socken" has been written by Britt Hagman. It is about soldiers in the Royal Elfsborg Regiment that came from Skepphult parish. It contains information about the soldier's name, the time period he served and any special notations that are found about him in the muster rolls. A copy of the book is available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It may also be available at other libraries or available to purchase online.
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Also on Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Älvsborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Älvsborg" and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! The have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Societies and Libraries
Skephult Husförhörslängd 1835-1841 Ortregister