Skjervøy, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Skjervøy, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngTroms County Gotoarrow.pngSkjervøy

Guide to Skjervøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Church Records

Skjervøy clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Skjervøy, Nordreisa and Kvænangen (Skørpen). Records begin in 1748.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 - The 1666 clerical census for Skjervøy (Tromsø) Clerical District can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. It Contains the Lutheran ministers census for 1666 in Troms county, Norway. This census only list the head of household, and all the male occupants. It was made specifically for military purpose. Also available in a scanned format online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) as well as in a searchable index.
  • Manntall 1701 : optatt av fogderi, sorenskrivere og sogne prester ifølge kongebrev av 26 Juli 1701 - The 1701 census of Skjervøy Clerical District can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City in Utah. This is a census made specifically for military enlistment and gives the name of the head of household and all males residing in the various households.Also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1702-manntalet for Tromsø futedømme. The 1702 civil census for Skjervøy is available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet.
  • Ekstraskattemanntallet 1763 Tromsø fogderi - The 1763 tax Census for Skjervøy, Lyngen, Tromsø, and Karlsøy parishes in Tromsø tax district can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books

[Two volumes are now available as a downloadable PDF file on the internet Skjervøy bygdebok I and II.

Farm Names

64 Aarvik, 60 Akkarfjord, 8 Akkarjorden, 7 Arildseng, 5 Arneng, 49 Bugten, 47 Djupdalen, 20 Eidet indre, 56 Elven, 15 Elvesletten, 41 Follesøen lille, 17 Forsnes, 57 Grundfjord, 71 Haksteinen, 58 Haugnes, 3 Haukøen, 6 Havn, 23 Havn, 37 Havnnes, 67 Havnnes, 32 Helgeli, 67 Helnes, 31 Hornset, 51 Jægtsæte, 49 Kaagen, 43 Kaspermarken, 42 Klauvnes, 17 Klubnes, 54 Kobpollen, 50 Kvalen, 59 Langfjord, 28 Langlien, 68 Langnes, 27 Langsletten, 16 Leirvaag, 66 Løksletten, 1 Mandskarvik, 51 Maursund, 2 Meiland, 11 Mettevolden, 24 Moldforviken, 4 Moldvik, 68 Nikkeby, 66 Nygaard, 13 Oksfjorddalen, 10 Oksfjordvandet nordre 14 Oksfjordvandet søndre, 63 Pankekjeilen, 44 Præstberget, 39 Rakkenes, 68 Ramberg, 26 Ravelseidet indre, 34 Rotsund nordre, 30 Rotsunddalen, 29 Rotsundelven, 24 Rottenvik, 65 Rækvik nordre, 9 Sandelven, 49 Sandnes, 22 Seglnesbugten, 55 Singlen, 48 Skagen, 69 Skjervø Præstegaard, 70 Skjervøberget, 61 Sotnes, 36 Spaakenes, 40 Storbugten, 38 Storsletten, 17 Strømfjord nordre, 46 Sæteren, 53 Taskeby lille, 47 Trondalen, 66 Tyvdalen, 45 Uløbugten, 12 Vasbotn, 19 Viken, 46 Vorterøen

Skjervøy Bygdebok

Akkarfjord, Akkarfjorden, Arildseng, Arneng, Arnøy, Arnøyhamn, Eidet, Elvesletta, Follesøy, Geitvik, Grunnfjord, Hammervik, Hamn, Hamnnes, Havnnes, Haukøy, Helgelid, Helnes, Hornset, Kaspermark, Klaunes, Klubnes, Kobbepollen, Kvalen, Kågen, Langlien, Langnes, Langsletta, Lauksletta, Lauksund, Laukøy, Leirvåg, Mannskarvik, Maursund, Meiland, Mettevollen, Mikkelvik, Moldvik, Moldforvik, Nikkeby, Nygård, Oksfjord, Olderfjord, Pankekeilen, Prestberg, Rakkenes, Ravelseid, Rekvik, Rotsund, Rotsunddal, Sandelv, Segelbukt, Simavåg, Skjervøy, Skjåvik, Sotnes, Spåkenes, Storbukt, Storelv, Storeng, Storslett, Straumfjord, Sæter, Taskeby, Uløy, Uløybukt,Valen, Viken, Vorterøy, Årvik

Genealogy 

Georgesen: Family documents, 1877-1977. Joachim Sigfred Georgesen (b. 1877) immigrated from Norway to Portland, Oregon before 1908. in Norway he naried Anne Constatin carlsen, and they had at least one son (Clifford Fred Georgesen, 1908-1977). After Anne's death, Joachim married widow Cathrine M. Johnson (d.1959) in 1943.  Clifford Fred Georgesen served in the United States Army during World War II, and married twice.  Includes certification of naturalization for Joachim, as well as his birth certificate (in Norwegian), and other family papers.  He was born in Skjervøy parish, Troms county, Norway.; his first wife was apparently born in Fredrikstad parish, Østfold county, Norway

FHL film 1697300 item 9

Historical Society

Nord-Troms Historielag

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Fugelsøy, Maurits: Skjervøy Bind II. Skjervøy Kommune 1974