Skogn, Nord-Trøndelag, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Skogn, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1747-1929.
Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:
Sogneprestenes manntall: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. (Usually only included males from 12 years and older, but in some cases all males from birth were listed). There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is usually more complete.
INDHERRED PROSTI I. b. 32 Skogn prestegjeld Alstadhaug Vold tinglag Gjete tinglag Levanger Family History Library INTL Film 122975 Item 3
Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. (Usually only includes males from 12 years and older, but in some districts all males from birth were included). The clerical authorities took a census during same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is usually more complete.
STJØRDALEN FOGDERI b. 19 Skogn prestegjeld Gjete tinglag Vold tinglag Family History Library INTL Film 122981 Item 2
1663-1666 Manntall for Innherred Deanery database.
The 1801 census (b. 57) for Skogn clerical district includes Alstadhaug, Markabygd, Ekne, Levanger, and Skogn parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. FHL Film 123007 Item 2
1835 - 1845 - 1855 Censusfor Skogn can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah
The 1835, 1845, 1846, 1855 and 1856 census for Skogn clerical district which includes the parishes Skogn, Alstadhaug, Ekne and Levanger. Includes the farm names, head of household (or his widow), his wife, children, other family members staying on farm, poor people, retired people, servants, farmhands, occupation, sex, and age etc. Also lists statistics.
Alstadhaug 1835,1845, 1846,1855, 1856; Ekne 1835,1845, 1846,1856; Skogn 1845,1855; Levanger 1835 Family History Library INTL Film 1283463 Item 1
Skogn, Levanger, Alstadhaug, Ekne sogn og Levanger skoledistrikter 1835 Family History Library INTL Film 1694694 Item 2
The 1865 census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, (may also list the persons that were temporarily absent) and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. FHL Film 123092 Item 2 1865 Census for Skogn database
This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, (may also list the persons that were temporarily presten or absent and their permanent place of residence), and other miscellaneous information. FHL Films 273626 and 273627 1875 Census for Skogn database
The 1900 census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. FHL Films 274718-274720 1900 Census for Skogn database
Vestrum, Arne,Skogns historie, Levanger : i kommission hos B. Turn-Paulsen, 1926-1979. A history of Skogn, Levanger and Frol in Nord-Trøndelag county in v. 1- 4. The genealogies of the people and the farms they lived on are in v. 5-8. FHL 948.42/S5 H2v
Contents: v. 1. Omfattende Frol og Levanger til 1720 -- v. 2, 1. & 2. halvbind. [Bosætningens og gårdenes historie og eiendomsforhold, og i det 18 århundrede tillike opsitterne og deres familjehold.] -- v. 3. Om Skognområdet i førhistorisk tid -- v. 4a-4b. Ålmenn bygdesoge for Skogn, Frol og Levanger -- v. 5. Levanger By's historie tidsrommet 1836-1989 -- v. 6 I-6 II. Frol I-II Folk og Heimar 1801-1950 -- v. 7. -- v. 8. Markabygda, Ekne -- v. 9. pt. 1. Midt-Skogn -- v. 10. pt.s. 1 & 2. Midt Skogn -- v. 11. pts. 1 & 2. Ytre Skogn -- v. 12. Ovre Skogn.
A farm name index to volume 6 part 1, (Frol parish) is found in the following link. File:948.42-S5 H2s v6p1 - SKOGN 6-1.pdf
1691-1823: Probates are found in Stjørdal og Verdal judicial district.
1691-1808: Clerical probates are found in Innherad Deanery