Frederiksberg Skt. Thomas Parish, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Copenhagen City
Frederiksberg Skt Thomas

Guide to Frederiksberg Skt. Thomas, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

The parish was created from a part of Frederiksberg parish on 26 January 1898.

The following is a chronological list of changes to the parish's borders:

  • 1905 - the parish was split and added to Mariendals parish
  • 1906 - again, part of the parish went to Mariendals parish
  • 1909 - parts of the parish went to Skt. Lukas, Godthåbs, and Mariendal parishes

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Skt. Thomas Parish (Frederiksberg)
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Københavns Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Sankt Thomas Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 København
Herred (district) Add here
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Add here


Street Names

Adolph Steens Alle, Aaboulevard

Bulowsvej

Doktor Abilgaards Alle

Erik Menveds Vej

Falkoner Alle, Falkonergaardsvej, Franckesvej, Fuglevangsvej

Godthaabsvej

H. C. Ørsteds Vej, Holger Danskers Vej, Hostrups Have

Ingemannsvej

Jakob Dannefærds Vej, J. M. Thieles Vej, Julius Thomsens Gade

Kong Georges Vej, Kronprinsesse Sofies Vej

L. I. Brandes Alle

N. J. Fjords Alle

Rolighedsvej, Rosenørns Alle

Sankt Nikolaj Vej, Steenwinkelsvej, Svanemosegaardsvej

Thorvaldsensvej

Worsaaesvej

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.

References