Slovenia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Slovenia)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Slovenia

Slovenia Wiki Topics
Lake Bled.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Slovenia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Guide to Slovenia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Slovenia is a country in Central Europe bordered by Italy, Croatia, Hungary, and Austria. The official language is Slovene.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Slovenia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Slovenia research.

Slovenia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Slovenia research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Slovenia Map

Slovenia.jpg


Jurisdictions

Administrative divisions Slovenia is traditionally divided into eight regions. The traditional regions of Slovenia based on the former four Habsburg crown lands (Carniola, Carinthia, Styria, and the Littoral) are (Read more)

Administrative Regions of Slovenia
English Name Native Name
Upper Carniola Gorenjska
Styria Štajerska
Prekmurje Prekmurje
Carinthia Koroška
Inner Carniola Notranjska
Lower Carniola Don
Goriška Goriška
Slovenian Istria Slovenska Istra

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Slovene," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovene, accessed 28 March 2016.