Slovenia Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Slovenia Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Slovenia Wiki Topics
Lake Bled.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Slovenia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources



In 1995 there were 798 Roman Catholic parishes in Slovenia supervised by the Archdiocese of Ljubljana, the Diocese of Maribor, and the Diocese of Koper. Koper covers the western part of the country, Maribor the eastern part, and Ljubljana the center.[1]

Parish Registers

An inventory of all parish registers was published 1972-1974. However, the disposition of records has changed significantly with records being transferred from governmental archives and local churches into diocesan and archdiocesan archives.[1]

  • In the early 1780s, Emperor Joseph II structured the parishes. He wished to limit the time required to get to the parish church and reduce the size of larger parishes.
  • A tabular format for the registers was adopted in 1770 and modified in 1784.
  • Evangelical registers were mandated in 1782, Jewish in 1779, Orthodox in 1864, Old Catholic in 1877, Baptist in1905, and Muslim in 1927.
  • Transcripts (duplicate registers) for civil authorities were mandated in 1828.

Research use: Uniquely identifies individuals; links parents to children; and provides clues for continuing research into older generations or along collateral lines.

Record type: Church records kept by parish priests of births/baptisms, marriages, and deaths/burials. The term is also used to refer to the records of denominations that had jurisdictions other than parishes.

General: The Council of Trent (1545-1563) mandated the keeping of parish registers in Catholic parishes. In the early 1780s, Emperor Joseph II restructured the parishes, creating new parishes and moving some villages from one parish to another. He wished to limit the time required to get to the parish church and reduce the size of larger parishes. A tabular format for the registers was adopted in 1770 and modified in 1784. Duplicate registers for civil authorities was mandated in 1835 for Roman Catholic and 1829 for Evangelical registers.

Time period: 1564-present. Evangelical registers were mandated in 1782, Jewish in 1779, Orthodox in1864, Old Catholic in 1877, Baptist in1905, and Muslim in1927.

Contents: Names of the principal and other family members, residence, relationships, dates and place of birth and baptism, marriage, death and burial. Includes ages in entries for marriage and burial. Baptisms include names of the godparents. Entries sometimes identify residence for those not in the parish. Mother’s maiden names were not included in baptismal entries until about 1770 and in marriage entries until about 1820. Location: The parish or the local civil registry office retain original records from the 1880s to the present. Earlier originals and transcripts are preserved in archdiocesan or diocesan archives. Some non-Catholic originals are in the Archive of Slovenia.

Population coverage: 60% coverage for early periods; 95% coverage for the 19th century.

Reliability: High.[1]

Status Animarum

  • The term status animarum translates as “the state of souls.” They contain names and information about baptism, marriage, burial, and relationship to head of household for everyone living in a parish.
  • Includes information on the house name (usually the Christian name of the person who built the house) by which the residents were sometimes known.

Research use: Provides summary information on families which should be checked against the parish registers. Helps track information on those who married outside the parish or who moved away. Also provides the place of origin for anyone who married into the parish. Best source of information on the date and place of death for those who died while serving in the military away from home. Also valuable in connecting to their correct parents, daughters bearing illegitimate children.

Record type: Record of parish residents compiled by household or address.

General: The term status animarum translates as “the state of souls.” They were kept by parish priests for internal purposes. Printed forms were introduced in the 19th century.

Time period: 1750-present.

Contents: Names and information about baptism, marriage, burial, and relationship to head of household for everyone living in it. Includes information on the house name by which the residents were sometimes known. Usually it is the Christian name of the person who built the house.

Location: Ecclesiastical archives; parish churches.

Population coverage: 90% of the population.

Reliability: Dependent on the concern of the pastor. If they were considered beneficial the pastor would carefully record the information, otherwise not.[1]

Church Archives

Church Archive in Ljubljana
Nadškofijski arhiv
Krekov trg 1
1000 Ljubljana
SLOVENIA
email: arhiv.lj@rkc.si

Church Archive in Maribor
Nadškofijski arhiv Maribor
Koroška cesta 1
2000 MARIBOR
SLOVENIA
email: skofijski.arhiv@slomsek.net

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Slovenia,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1999.