Smisby, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Smisby, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Smisby

Guide to Smisby, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Smisby, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1720
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartshorn
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

SMISBY, a parish, in the union of Ashby-de-laZouch, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 2½ miles (N. N. W.) from Ashby, with Bondary, extra-parochial. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Smisby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Smisby St James (1720) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1720-1885
  NONE
1720-1912
  NONE
1720-1912
  NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1679-1883 Mar 1679-1836 Burials 1679-1883 Missing Bap/Bur 1853-1855, 1857-1862,1868-1871

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.


Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Smisby on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, ATopographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 123-125. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.