Snelston, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Snelston, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Snelston, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Snelston, Derbyshire
Snelston St Peter Derbyshire.jpg
Snelston St Peter Derbyshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1575; For more records see Norbury
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

SNELSTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 2½ miles (S. W.) from Ashbourn. [1]

Once a parochial chapelry of Norbury, Snelston became a separate parish in 1871 although in keeping with parochial chapelries it has it's own registers from 1575. Unfortunately Snelston is one of those parishes where damage has occured to the registers, this time by floodwater.[2]
 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Snelston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Snelston St Peter (1575) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1575-1912
  NONE
1575-1912
  NONE
1575-1912
  NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1664-1868 Mar 1664-1838 Burials 1664-1868

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.


Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Snelston on GENUKI 

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 126-129. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.
  2. GENUKI,[1]