Snetterton, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Snetterton, Norfolk)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide toSnetterton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Snetterton, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shropham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wayland
Registration District Wayland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1669
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rockland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Parish History

SNETTERTON (St. Andrew and All Saints), a parish, in the union of Wayland, hundred of Shropham, W. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (N.) from East Harling. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Wayland 1837-1974

Church records

Snetterton, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Snetterton, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1669-1932
1670-1913
1669-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1669-1932 Undefined 1669-1913 Undefined 1669-1812
JOIN
1818-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 21/1-6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Attew, Marion.  The Squires Family Reunited. A history of the Squires family, coming to London from Snetterton, Norfolk, family tree is given starting with James Squires marrying Esther Witham, and their descendants Philip born 1793 and Robert born 1794. Article dates from 1793-1951, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol. 7, pt.5, pages 156-157, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j v.7 pt.5

Squires, R.D. From Norfolk to London. Family tree of Robert James Squires and Mary Ann Syzling, and descendants with surnames. Tucker, Hill, Clark, De Vigie, Thompson, Read, Fitzwilliam Birch, Land, Brooks. Family move to Snetterton, Hockham, London - Southwark, and Crayford, Kent. Article dated 1851-1971, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol5.pt.4, page78-79. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.5, pt. 4.

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Wayland Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 126-129. Date accessed: 03 June 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.