Soham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Soham, Cambridgeshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Soham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Soham, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staploe
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Newmarket
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

SOHAM (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Staploe, county of Cambridge, 5¾ miles (S. E.) from Ely, and 69 (N. N. E.) from London, with the chapelry of Barway. This was a place of some note at a very early period. St. Felix, first bishop of the East Angles, founded a monastery here about 630, which was the seat of the diocese prior to its removal to Dunwich. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Soham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Soham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1850-1856
1850-1856

Soham parish registers, baptisms, 1558-1875; marriages, 1558-1875; burials, 1558-1875; index at FHL

Parish register transcripts, 1558-1791, 1890-1906 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Soham, 1850-1856 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241225.

  

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Soham on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-133. Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.