Sonning, Oxfordshire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Wokingham|
|Registration District||Henley; Wokingham|
|Parish registers: 1592|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1592|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post 1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
SONNING (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Wokingham, partly in the hundred of Binfield, county of Oxford, but chiefly in the hundreds of Charlton and Sonning, county of Berks, 3½ miles (E. N. E.)from Reading. Here is a place of worship for Independents. 
Sonning is an Ancient Parish partly in Berkshire and partly in Oxfordshire. Other places in the parish include: Sandford, Woodley and Sandford, Woodley, and Sonning Town. A more detailed description is available in Genuki.org.uk.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sonning, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Sonning, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Genuki.org.uk has additional information on the availability of church records.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241205. (Note these records are listed under Berkshire County as the parish is mostly in Berkshire.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
■findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■Ancestry.co.uk (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
■The Genealogist.co.uk (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.