South Elmham, St Michael, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png South Elmham St Michael
South Elmham, St Michael, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wangford
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Wangford
Registration District Wangford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1550
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Elmham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

ELMHAM, SOUTH (St. Michael), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wangford, E. division of the county of Suffolk, 6 miles (N. N. W.) from Halesworth.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.


If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

South Elmham was in Wangford district. To search an index of Wangford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

South Elmham, St Michael, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
South Elmham, St Michael, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FMP 1813-1903
FREG 1560-1899
1560-1752, 1813-1900

Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474644.

Military Records

South Elmham St. Michael is one of the 36 "thankful villeages" that had every young man return home after fighting in both World War 1 and World War II. While there is no war memorial in these villages, this plaque hangs in the church to honor those who served in World War 1 and this plaque is for those who served in World War II.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 161-164. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911', Find My Past, accessed 5 January 2016. Described ambiguously as 'South Elmham.'
  4. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.