South Hetton or Haswell, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to South Hetton or Haswell, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Hetton or Haswell, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Easington
Registration District Easington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1870
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

HASWELL, a township, in the parish and union of Easington, S. division of Easington ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 6 miles (E. by N.) from Durham. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

The parish of Haswell or South Hetton was formed in 1870 from the parish of Easington. Haswell St Paul parish includes Haswell and Hetton. From the arrangement of Bishop's Transcripts it is evident that these communities were treated as a separate group from the Easington parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/135 October 1838-October 1852 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. The transcripts are marked "Easington parish district of Haswell" and distinct from the Easington parish trancripts kept in a seperate collection at DDR/EA/2/135

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1867-1974 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Hasw).

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Wesleyans

Census Reccords

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241355.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. England Jurisdictions 1851

Vision of Britian

Websites

South Hetton or Haswell (see Easington) on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.