South Hinksey, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from South Hinksey, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Oxfordshire
Oxfordshire Parishes
South Hinksey


Guide to South Hinksey, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
South Hinksey, Oxfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hormer
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oxford
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post 1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

HINKSEY (SOUTH), a village and a parish in Abingdon district, Berks. The village stands near the Oxford railway, 1 mile SW of Oxford. [1]

South Hinksey an Ecclesiatical Parish in the county of Oxfordshire, mostly in Berkshire and partly in Oxfordshire; created in 1723 from chaperly in Comnor Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

South Hinksey, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
South Hinksey, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1607-1906
1607-1924
1607-1894

Genuki.org.uk provides a detailed explanation of these records and their locations. The Family History Library has microfilms of various parish registers. To view their availability in the FamilySearch Catalog click here

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 0241201.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain


Websites

Reference

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.