South Perrott, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from South Perrott, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png South Perrott

Guide to South Perrott, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Perrott, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beaminster-Forum and Redhone
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Beaminster
Registration District Beaminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

PERROT, SOUTH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Beaminster, hundred of Beaminster-Forum, and Redhone, Bridport division of Dorset, 4¼ miles (N. by W.) from Beaminster. It consists of 1451a. 2r. 28p., and is situated on the road from Dorchester to Crewkerne. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online South Perrott, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1530
1539
1530
Images
1530-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1879 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1959 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1731-1880 Ancestry[6] 1539-1840 findmypast[7]
1654-1750 findmypast[8]
1790-1812 Ancestry[9]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241337.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, published 1848. Date accessed: 10 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  7. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  8. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm