South Stainley, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from South Stainley, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png South Stainley

Guide to South Stainley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Stainley, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Knaresborough
Registration District Ripon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1675
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boroughbridge
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Honour of Knaresborough
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

STAINLEY, SOUTH, a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York, 2¾ miles (N. E. by N.) from Ripley.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of South Stainley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS =
ANC = (£)
JOIN = - (£)
SOUTH STAINLEY PARISH (1656) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1656-1841, 1897-1900


1675-1840, 1898-1900




AC None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of South Stainley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the South Stainley page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464251.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 170-175. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.