South Witham, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from South Witham, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
South Witham

Guide to South Witham, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Witham, Lincolnshire
St+John+the+Baptist South+Witham Lincolnshire.JPG
St+John+the+Baptist South+Witham Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beltisloe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Beltisloe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

WITHAM, SOUTH (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Beltisloe, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 3¼ miles (S. by W.) from Colsterworth. [1]

South Witham St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish. An alternative spelling of South Wytham is also found in records.

The village used to contain two chapels; one Methodist and a Congregational chapel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms South Witham Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.


Search FamilySearch CatalogueSouth of the Witham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/SouthWitham/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.