Southorpe, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Southorpe, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Gainsborough|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History =
SOUTHORPE, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Gainsborough, wapentake of Corringham, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 7 miles (N. E.) from Gainsborough. 
The lost mediaeval village of Southorpe is now a small hamlet and civil parish but is an extra parochial place in ecclesiastical terms.
This place was in the Scotter sub=district of Gainsborough registration district
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Southorpe
Southorpe is an extra parochial place
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438768.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.