Southwick, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Southwick, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Steyning|
|Parish registers: 1654|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
SOUTHWICK (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Fishergate, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 1 mile (E.) from Shoreham. It is bounded on the east by Aldrington and Portslade, on the west by Kingston, on the north by Poynings and Edburton, and on the south by the sea. The river Adur intersects its southern portion, and the Portsmouth branch of the London and Brighton railway also passes through it. The church is principally in the Norman style; the upper part of the tower, and some smaller portions, arc of later date. In 1834 it was enlarged.
Southwick is a small town and civil parish in the Adur district of West Sussex. Southwick West Sussex Wikipedia
St Michael and All Angels Southwick Wikipedia is an Ancient Parish.
The history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Southwick St Michael and All Angels
The Parish church of St Michael has been listed as a grade II British Listed building
Other places of worship include
All Souls Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Congregational Church now Southwick Christian Community Church Sussex Parish Clerks Online (OPC)
Methodist Church dated from 1876, closed in 1955 and subsequently demolished
Southwick Methodist Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Peter & St Mary (Anglican) dates from 1938 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Theresa of Lisieux Roman Catholic Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
The Assembly Room closed 1921
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Southwick, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Southwick, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Southwick
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.
Poor Law Unions =
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.