Spanish Fork Utah Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


The Spanish Fork Utah Family History Center is dedicated to providing education and support for the family history community in the Spanish Fork area. The Family History Center is open to the public, who are invited to use the resources free of charge. Anyone interested in learning more about their family history, including doing research to find ancestors, is welcome and encouraged to come to the center.Trained volunteers are available during Center hours and by appointment to assist patrons.

Spanish Fork Utah Family History Center.jpg


Center Contacts and Hours

Location Map:

Address:

  • 420 South Main Spanish Fork UT 84660 United States
  • The Spanish Fork Utah Family History Center is located at 420 South Main St in Spanish Fork, next to the Nebo School District Offices.

Phone:

  • 1 801-798- 5535

E-mail:

  • UT_Spanishfork@ldsmail.net


Open Hours:

  • Monday         9am - 6pm
  • Tuesday        9am - 9pm 
  • Wednesday   9am - 9pm
  • Thursday      9am -  9pm
  • Friday           9am - 6pm
  • Sunday         4pm - 7pm



Closed for Holidays, General Conference and Saturdays.

To arrange for Group Instruction Call: 801-798-5535.

Walk in groups over 5 must call to make an appointment.



Calendar and Events

Upcoming Events

Class Schedule

Mels fhc1.jpg


Classes on Thursdays start at 7:00 PM

New day time Class: in Family Search Thursdays at 3:00 - 4:00 PM


Everyone is welcome.

             Date

                  Topics

Instructors  

Sept 8 Th  7:00 PM

Preparing Names for the Temple
Denise Irwin

 Sept. 22 Th 7:00 PM


Personal History on a Card
Lynn Otteson
Sept. 29 Th 7:00 PM Pictures/Memories on Family Search Lynn Otteson

 



 



 



 



 



Staff Meeting held 1st Thursday of each month at 7:00 PM

Center Resources:

Collections

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.
  • The largest collection of Icelandic records in the United States
  • A large collection of Family History Books

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
    • 19th Centry British Library Newspaper Digital Archive
    • Access Newspaper Archive
    • Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War
    • Ancestry.com
    • ArkivDigital Online - Swedish Genealogy
    • Findmypast
    • Fold3.com (previously known as Footnote.com)
    • The Genealogist
    • Godfrey Memorial Library
    • Hertiage Quest Online
    • Historic Map Works Library Edition
    • Paper Trail
    • World Vital Records

Hardware and Equipment

19 computer work stations
1 Lexmark color Printer/Scanner
2 Black & white printers
1 reader printer
4 Film readers
3 Microfiche readers



Center Services:

Staff Research Specialties for All shifts Family Search and Tree & Indexing

Family History Staff and Shift Research

Staff Members

Olsen, Elizabeth    Area Directors

Olsen, Royden      Area Directors

Smith, Jill              FHC Director

Shell, Jill           FHC Assist  Director

Knight, Shari   FHC Assist Director

Knight, Ken FHC Assist Director

Fulton, Jennifer      FHC Secretary

Nielson, Doug        Technical Support


Family History Shift Research

Allan, Carolyn              M 12N - 3PM

Amos, Jannine             W 12N - 3PM

Anderson,Bliss             T 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Photos and Stories

Aust, Clea                    F 3PM - 6PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  USA Research and British Research

Banks, Pat                   M 12N - 3 PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . . USA Research

Banks, Ray                  M 12N - 3PM

Barnet, Montreia         Th 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Research

Bell, Dennis                 T 6PM - 9PM

Bell, Peggy                  T 6PM - 9PM

Bennion, Roy               S 4PM - 7PM    W 3PM - 6pm . . English Research

Black, Merrill               Th 12N - 3PM . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . Print and Scan

Bradford, Shirley         Th 12N - 3PM

Carter, Merrill              W 6PM - 9PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Stories, Photos and Making Source Folders

Chapple, Pat                W 6PM - 9PM. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Find a Grave

Gardner, Pat                W 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . USA Research and Roots Magic on MAC

Gee, Loraine                W 3PM - 6PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .USA Research and England

Gee, Rachelle               F 9AM - 12N

Goates, Ken                Th 3PM - 6PM

Goble, Susan               Th 3PM - 6PM

Groberg, Debbie          M 9AM - 12N . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . .USA Research and German

Hewett, Rochelle          M 3PM - 6PM . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Italian Research

Irwin, Denise               W 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . USA Research

Jensen, Mary               M 12N - 3PM

Jepsen, Ruth                F 12N - 3PM

Johnson, John             T 6PM - 9PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Icelandic and Indexing

Judd, Frank                M 3PM - 6PM

Kimball, Katrina          F 3PM - 6PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Lewis, Robert               F 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  USA Southern

Loveless, Janice         W 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .USA Research and Canada

Loveless, Sheldon      W 6PM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . USA and Canadian Research

Marshall, Dan             M 12N - 3PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . USA Research

Mellor, Tara                Th 3PM - 6PM. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Scout Merit Badge

Nielsen, Ray              Sn 4PM - 7PM    M 9AM - 12N   T 12N - 3PM. . . Danish Research

Nosack, Mary            T 9AM - 12N

Ottwsen, Lynn           T 6PM - 9PM. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Ancestry.com and Find My Past

Ottesen, Wes            T 6PM - 9PM

Pace, Jim                  T 12N - 3PM    T 3PM - 6PM

Pace, Judy                T 3PM - 6PM

Paice, Marilyn           W 6PM - 9PM. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Ancestry.com

Persons, Bob             F 12N - 3PM

Peatross,Christie      T 6PM - 9PM

Reynolds, Theresa    W 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Puzzilla

Richardson, Tom      S 4PM - 7PM

Richardson, Verla    T 3PM - 6PM

Ririe, Kent                 F 12N - 3PM

Ririe, Lori                  F 12N - 3PM

Robertson, Ina         T 6PM - 9PM    Th 6PM - 9PM . . . Holland and Roots Majic

Sagars, Pat              M 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .USA Research, Scotland and Canada

Shell, Bethanie        Th 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Indexing

Shell, Debbie            M 9AM - 12N     T 12N - 3PM. . . . .USA Research and indexing

Shell, Jill                  Th 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Spanish Research

Sheperd, LaWana    W 12N _ 3PM

Sommers, Ruth        T 3PM - 6PM

Stout, Doreen           M 3PM - 6PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Roots Magic

Stout, Jim                 M 3PM - 6PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Roots Magic

Stringhsm, Kathy      T 9AM - 12N . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Swedish      

Thompson, Bill         W 6PM - 9PM

Vogt, JoLayne . . . . .T 3PM - 6PM . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . USA Research       





Resources in the Local Area

Resources Outside Local Area

Browse by Country

Links

National Links:

Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources


Volunteer at the Center - Come join our Staff

We are looking for those with computer skills and are familiar with Family Search and Family History.


Family Search Blog

A terrific resource to keep up on what is going on and available in Family Search FamilySearch Blog

Let’s Get Acquainted with the Family Search Wiki (WIK-ee)

Family Search users don’t always think to look at this valuable tool because they aren’t sure what it is and how valuable it can be to our research efforts.  So, in Family Search’s words: “The FamilySearch Wiki is not about finding the names of your ancestors. It is not, in fact, about finding people at all.

  • The Wiki is about finding records that may have been generated about your ancestors and the places in which the records might be found
    *It is a vast record depository of the paper trail that people leave behind long after they are gone.
    *The Wiki has records from the United States as well as from 244 countries.
    *Here you will be able to find documents such as census records, marriage records, birth records and death records and much more.
    *Probate documents are often very informative and may help you in your search. There is an extensive list of United States military records on the Wiki .”

Recently a friend in Illinois went into the FamilySearch Wiki and found phone numbers for the Surrogate Court in New York that held wills. She found six missing wills!

Take time to explore the opening page of this site there are tutuorials and examples and lots of help in learning the Wiki. Got stuck in your research? Look to the Wiki for help. How do I find the FamilySearch Wiki?

  • Familysearch.org Search (drop down menu) Wiki
    *(open FamilySearch.org and go to Search at top of page which will give you a dropdown menu and then click on Wiki)
    *How to Use the Wiki -- Wiki_Help
    *About the Wiki -- Find an ancestor using the wiki

Family Search Apps for Smart Phones and Tablets

FamilySearch Apps

Family Search Hacks to Help Find Temple Names Faster

5 FamilySearch Hacks

Unreserved Reservations after Two Years

Unreserving Reservations After Two Years