Spelsbury, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Spelsbury, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Spelsbury, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Spelsbury, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chadlington
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Chipping Norton
Registration District Chipping Norton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chipping Norton
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

SPELSBURY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Chipping-Norton, hundred of Chadlington, county of Oxford, 5 miles (S. E. by S.) from Chipping-Norton. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Spelsbury, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Spelsbury, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

OFHS 1540-1938

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474573.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 156-159. Date accessed: 27 September 2012.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 21 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.