Spink County, South Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Spink County, South Dakota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to South Dakota go to Spink County

Guide to Spink County, South Dakota ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}




Spink County, South Dakota
Map
Map of South Dakota highlighting Spink County
Location in the state of South Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Dakota
Location of South Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 8, 1873
County Seat Redfield
Courthouse
SouthDakotaSpinkCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Spink Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Spink County Courthouse
210 E 7th Avenue
Redfield, SD 57469
Phone: 605.472.1825

Clerk Court has birth and death records from 1905,
marriage records from 1887, burial records from 1941,
divorce and court records from 1882 and probate records
from 1880; Register of Deeds has land records[1]

County Information



Spink County, South Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880

History

Parent County

1873--Spink County was created 8 January 1873 from unorganized territory.
County seat: Redfield [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation Military Service

1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Redfield, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Spink County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Spink County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Spink then click Probate records.

Online Records

Taxation

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Societies and Libraries

Spink County Historical Museum<br<PO Box 1
Brentford, SD 57434
email:[1]
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Spink County, South Dakota, p.628
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).