Sproxton, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sproxton, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Sproxton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Sproxton, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Framland
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Melton Mowbray
Registration District Melton Mowbray
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640
Bishop's Transcripts: 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Framland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

SPROXTON (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Melton-Mowbray, hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 8 miles (N. E.by E.) from Melton-Mowbray. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sproxton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Sproxton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1640-1812
1640-1812
1640-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438741.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Martin, Shirley.  The Martin Family.  History and descendants of William Martin who married (1)Jane Frisby, 29 March 1725 and (2) Elisabeth Broughton, 1743 at Oundle Parish, Northants, with their children being baptised there.  Descendants appear to move to Tansor, Northamptonshire, Coston, and Warmington, Notts, Selston.  Surnames listed: Broughton, Thorrow, Pentiloe, Pywell, Chambers, Bailey, Ellis, Tall, Sheffield, Brudenell, Bloodworth, Sanderson, Hight and Housden.  Article dated 1725-1975, and is found in Footprints, vol.6.no.3. pages77-78. Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol. 6.no.3.

Poor Law Unions

Melton Mowbray Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 159-164. Date accessed: 27 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.