Sri Lanka Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sri Lanka)
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Wiki Topics
Flag of Sri Lanka.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Sri Lanka Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Sri Lanka ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Sri Lanka is an island country in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Asia whose nearest neighbor is India. It was formerly ruled by Portugal, The Netherlands, and Great Britain. The official languages are Sinhalese and Tamil.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Sri Lanka Research

Links to articles on getting started with Sri Lanka research.

Sri Lanka Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Sri Lanka research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Sri Lanka Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Sri Lanka. For more detail, see the U.N. map.

Bay of Bengal
Palk Strait
Northern Province
Gulf of
Mannar
North Central Province
North Western
Province
Eastern
Province
Central
Province
Uva Province
Western
Province
Sabaragamuwa
Province
Southern Province
Indian Ocean


Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Sri Lanka. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Sri Lanka is divided into eight provinces.

  • Central
  • North Central
  • North Eastern
  • North Western
  • Sabaragamuwa
  • Southern
  • Uva
  • Western

Note: In October 2006, the Sri Lankan Supreme Court rule voided a presidential directive merging the North and Eastern Provinces. Many have defended the merger as a prerequisite for a negotiated settlement to the ethnic conflict. A parliamentary decision on the issue is pending.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Sri Lanka," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sri_Lanka, accessed 21 April 2016.