St. Georges Parish, Accomack, Virginia

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  St. George's Parish (Accomack Co.)

History

St. George's Parish has served Accomack County, Virginia. It is located in Pungoteague.

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Cemetery

A survey of the graves at St. Georges Church was published in 1992.[2] It is available online at Eastern Shore Stuff. FHL Book 975.516 V3m 1992.

Parish History

The Parishes in Accomac County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[3]

St. George Parish reports:[4]

Parish Records

Overseers of the Poor
Parish Registers

Colonial parish registers do not survive.

Vestry Books

The original St. George's Parish vestry books (1763-1787) are kept at the Library of Virginia. Copies: FHL Film 33853. Abstracts:

Websites

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. Jean Merritt Mihalyka and Faye Downing Wilson, Graven Stones: Inscriptions from Lower Accomack County, Virginia, Including Liberty and Parksley Cemeteries (Bowie, Md.: Heritage books, Inc., 1992).
  3. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 304-309.
  4. Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836). Digital version at Google Books.