St. Louis County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from St. Louis County, Minnesota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png St. Louis County

Guide to St. Louis County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


St. Louis County, Minnesota
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 1, 1856
County Seat Duluth
Courthouse
Address St. Louis County Courthouse
100 N 5th Ave W
Duluth, MN 55802-1202
Phone: 218.726.2559
St. Louis County Website


County Information

St. Louis County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1870 1870 1850

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has birth, death and marriage records from 1870,
burial permits from 1938, divorce, court and land records from 1859.
County Court has probate records. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1856--St. Louis County was created 1 March 1856 from Itasca County. County seat: Duluth [3]
  • For a brief history of how St. Louis County was named, click here, then select St. Louis County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

1869-70 Courthouse suffered a county record loss; cause unknown.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MNInterment
MNGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Duluth
Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Duluth

  • Records of First Lutheran Church, Duluth, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Orr

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Orr, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. Louis County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, St. Louis County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, St. Louis – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for St. Louis County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnstlouis.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Louis County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death

St. Louis County Death Record Index covering the time period from January 1, 1870 through December 31, 2000.  Hosted by Rootsweb 


Societies and Libraries

St. Louis Park Historical Society
3700 Monterey Drive
St. Louis Park 55416
Website

St. Louis County Historical Society
506 West Michigan Street
Duluth 55802-1505
Website

Canosia Historical Society
5762 N Pike Lake Rd
Duluth, MN 55811
Telephone: 218-729-8963
Website

Range Genealogical Society
PO Box 388
Chisholm MN 55719-0388
Telephone: 218-254-7959
Website

Twin Ports Genealogical Society
PO Box 16895
Duluth MN 55816-0895


Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR)
Duluth, Minnesota
E-mail:edwardcnewman@juno.com
Website

The ‘DAR’ is dedicated to promoting patriotism, preserving American History, and securing America’s future through better education for children. If you live in northern Minnesota or northwest Wisconsin and you think you might have a Revolutionary War Patriot in your family tree please contact this organization. They can assist you in filling out your application to be a member of the DAR.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St Louis County, Minnesota page 368, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.