St. Louis County Library

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Missouri go to St. Louis Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries go to St. Louis County Library

St. Louis County Library History & Genealogy Department


Adopt-a-wiki page
SLCL.jpg This page adopted by:
History & Genealogy at St. Louis County Library
who welcome you to contribute.
Add custom text
Adopt a page today

Contact Information

E-mail:[1]  genealogy@slcl.org

Address:[1]

St. Louis County Library Headquarters
Tier 5 (top floor)
1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63131

Telephone:[1]  314-994-3300, ext. 2070

Hours and holidays:[1]  Monday-Thursday 9-9 ; Friday-Saturday 9-5 ; Sunday 1-5; closed on legal holidays--see Holiday closings

Map, parking, and public transportation:

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

The St. Louis County Library genealogical collection has 85,000 print items, 9,500 family histories, 850 periodical titles, 40,000 microfilm rolls, and many electronic databases. Their emphasis is on St. Louis, Missouri, and states and foreign countries that fed migration into Missouri, including New England states, the 13 colonies, and many foreign countries. Military history, African American, and other ethnic sources are well represented. Record types include online databases, federal censuses, births, marriages, deaths, cemeteries, church records, military records, naturalizations, newspapers, wills, African American records, and yearbooks.[2]

They also have collections from the National Genealogical Society, the St. Louis Genealogical Society, the African American Research Collection, the Jewish Genealogical Society, the Archdiocese of St. Louis parish records, and from the Archdiocese of Belleville, Illinois. SLCL also can order microfilms from the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.[3]

Significant miscellaneous items include 850 microfilms from parish registers of the Swiss Canton of Bern, over 100 Jewish Yizkor books, and sources for Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, New England, and some rare English, Welsh, and Scottish genealogies.[4]

Tips

  • Tours. Public tours of the department are given on the first Wednesday and third Saturday of each month at 10:30 a.m.
  • Tier 4. Many genealogy books are shelved on Tier 4, an area that is normally closed to the public. The area is opened to the public on the third Saturday and Sunday of each month. Materials on Tier 4 are available for use at other times upon request.
  • Computer access. There is a 30-minute time limit on the public computers if others are waiting. Photo I.D. is required for using public computers. Free wireless access to the system is also available for personal computers.
  • Microfilm readers. 12 microfilm readers are available for use. All readers are attached to a printer, and most are able to scan and save images electronically. Use is limited to one hour if other people are waiting.
  • Book copying and scanning. A coin-operated photocopier is available to make paper copies and can be used as a flat-bed scanner. An overhead book scanner allows scanning to an electronic file.

Guides

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source via the St. Louis County Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • Mid-Continent Public Library Midwest Genealogy Center, Independence, a great American genealogy collection: censuses, MO federal land sales, penitentiary, St. Louis fur trade, Civil War, passenger lists, plantations, American Indians, city directories, newspapers, Draper Manuscripts, and KY taxes.[5] [6]
  • National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, federal bounty land, homesteads, bankruptcy, ethnic sources, prisons, and federal employees.[7]
  • National Archives at Kansas City federal censuses 1790–1930; selected military service indexes, pension indexes, passenger lists, naturalizations, photos, adoptions, vital records, land, and Indian records.</ref>

Similar Collections

Neighboring Collections

St. Louis CITY offices In 1876 St. Louis City separated from St. Louis County, but retained all of the original St. Louis County records prior to 1876.

St. Louis COUNTY offices:

Mixed City and County of St. Louis repositories:

Outside of St. Louis:

Outside of Missouri:

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St. Louis County Library

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 History and Genealogy in St. Louis County Library (accessed 1 March 2016).
  2. Online guide to St. Louis sources in the History and Genealogy Department in St. Louis County Library (accessed 2 February 2016).
  3. Genealogy and local history in St. Louis County Library (accessed 7 March 2014).
  4. Department Holdings and Collections in St. Louis County Library (accessed 1 March 2016).
  5. William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 67. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
  6. About the Midwest Genealogy Center in Mid-Continent Public Library (accessed 5 May 2010).
  7. Information for Researchers at the National Archives Building in Washington, DC in National Archives (accessed 31 December 2013).
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 396. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  9. St. Louis City Recorder of Deeds and Vital Records Registrar (accessed 7 March 2014).
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT : Everton Publishers, 2002), 406. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  11. City of St. Louis Assessor's Office - Administrative in City of St. Louis, Missouri (accessed 7 March 2014).
  12. 22nd Judicial Circuit Probate Division Resource Room in 22nd Circuit Court St. Louis, Missouri (accessed 7 March 2014).
  13. 13.0 13.1 St. Louis County Vital Records in St. Louis County, Missouri (accessed 7 March 2014).
  14. St. Louis County Clerk in St. Louis County, Missouri (accessed 7 March 2014).
  15. St. Louis County Circuit Court Clerk in St. Louis County, Missouri (accessed 7 March 2014).
  16. St. Louis County Probate Court in St. Louis County, Missouri (accessed 7 March 2014).
  17. St. Louis County Office of the Medical Examiner in St. Louis County, Missouri (accessed 7 March 2014).
  18. Clayton Historical Society (accessed 7 March 2014).
  19. German American Heritage Society of St. Louis (accessed 7 March 2014)
  20. Dollarhide and Bremer, 134.
  21. Home in St. Louis African American History and Genealogy Society (accessed 7 March 2014).
  22. Home in St. Louis Genealogical Society (accessed 7 March 2014).
  23. Introduction to LDS Family History Centers in Family History Research Wiki (accessed 29 February 2016).
  24. Genealogists in St. Louis Public Library (accessed 3 February 2016).
  25. U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Missouri (accessed 7 March 2014).
  26. Dollarhide and Bremer, 47 and 67.
  27. Special Collections in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 7 March 2014).
  28. Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Information in Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (accessed 3 March 2016).
  29. Vital Records in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 2 Feb 2016).
  30. Research in Ozarks Genealogical Society (accessed 15 March 2014).
  31. Guide to Local History and Genealogy Department Collections in Springfield-Greene County Library District (accessed 15 March 2014).
  32. The Hulston Library in Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Missouri in National Park Service (accessed 15 March 2014).
  33. Our Collection in Harrison County Museum (accessed 7 March 2014).
  34. Dollarhide and Bremer, 39.