England Middlesex Middlesex Parishes
Guide to St George Hanover Square, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St George's, Hanover Square, is an Anglican church in central London, built in the early 18th century. The land on which the church stands was donated by General William Steuart, who laid the first stone in 1721.A civil parish of St George Hanover Square, and an ecclesiastical parish, were created in 1724 from part of the ancient parish of St Martin in the Fields. The boundaries of the ecclesiastical parish were adjusted in 1830, 1835 and 1865 when other parishes were carved out of it. The ecclesiastical parish still exists today and forms part of the Deanery of Westminster St Margaret in the Diocese of London (see a "List of Chapels of Ease"... under "Parish History" below with approximately 20 chapels which subdivided this "fashionable" parish).
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438834.
1634-1900 Rate Books
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
The Westminster, Poor Law and Parish Administration collection at findmypast includes:
- 1731-1911 - St George Hanover Square, Workhouses
- 1885-1900 - St George Hanover Square, Valuations
'St George Hanover Square, the church of, is situated on the east side of Great George Street and the corner of Maddox Street. It was built by Gibbs, in 1724, as one of fifty new churches voted by parliament, and was dedicated, in compliment to the reigning King, to St George. It has a plain substantial body, with an elegant portco of the Corinthian order, and a handsome bell tower. The ground upon which this church stands was given by Lieutenant-General William Stewart, who also bequeathed £4,000 towards erecting and endowing a charity school.
'The parish was taken from that of St Martin in the Fields, and is a rectory in the patronage of the Bishop of London, is in the county of Middlesex, in the diocese of London and in the Archdeaconry of Middlesex.
St George Hanover Square was considered to be, from the time of its construction, one of the illustrious parishes in the region. Well over a hundred thousand couples, young and old, flocked to its altars in order to be married in what was considered to be one of the more 'fashionable' churches (near St James Palace), in all of Greater London.
1848 parish description
St. George, Hanover Square is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron is the Bishop.
Grosvenor Square is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron is the Rector and Churchwardens of St. George’s.
Hanover District Chapel, Regent St. is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron is the Rector of St. George’s.
St. Mark’s District Chapel is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron is the Rector of St. George’s.
Chapels of Ease and District Churches attached to and subdividing the Parish (boundary) of St George Hanover Square
Associated with St George Hanover Square (est. 1725), were its numerous chapelries and later district churches built within its ecclesiastical boundary, some of which whose (chapel) registers are of ancient derivation nearly predating those of St George's, and of which are given due consideration below:
- All Saints, Grosvenor Road, Pimlico. Chapel-of-Ease to St Gabriel Warwick Square (1863); closed in 1967.
- Berkeley Chapel, John Street, Berkeley Square, Mayfair [by at least 1810; became St Saviour's in 1864]. Proprietary Chapel - became: St.Mary, Bourdon Street. Chapel-of-Ease to St.Geo.Han.Sq.[in 1882]. Closed 1939.
- Charlotte Chapel [?] (See under "Pimlico" in the Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales at Vision of Britain)
- Christ Church, Down Street, Mayfair 
- Curzon Chapel, Curzon Street, Mayfair. Proprietary Chapel. Successor to the Mayfair Chapel, the marriage shop of the infamous Dr. Keith who defied church and state authority, with his assistants conducting 7,000-plus clandestine marriages c.1730 until activities were stopped by the Lord Hardwicke Marriage Act of 1753. The registers were kept at the mother parish church (St.George's Hanover Square), and the Bishop's Transcripts to the diocesan registry. Ceased operation by 1894.
- Eaton Chapel, Eaton Terrace. Proprietary Chapel. [1836?] closed about 1901
- Ebury Chapel [a proprietary chapel] of ease [prior to 1870]
- Grosvenor Chapel, South Audley Street  - Still open
- Hanover Church, Regent Street  became district church, then replaced by: St. Anselm, Davies Street, Berkeley Square. [Separate parish 1899?] - closed 1938, Parish united to Hanover Square and St. Mark, North Audley Street. Is now gone.
- St Barnabas, Church Street, Pimlico  Later became a separate parish - Still open
- St John's Chapel, Pimlico Road. Chapel-of-Ease to above.
- St Gabriel, Warwick Square, Pimlico  - Still open
- St George's Chapel, Albermarle Street. Proprietary Chapel [1740?] Licensed for marriages 1899-1909. Registers survive 1888-1909.
- St John, Belgrave Square. Proprietary Chapel. Possibly the same as: Belgrave Chapel Halkin Street [1898-1910].
- St John the Evangelist, Wilton Road Chapel-of-Ease to above [1874?] Closed 1942?
- St Mark, North Audley Street . Parish united to St.George Hanover Square 1968. Church closed c.1980. leased to Commonwealth Church 1995.
- St Mary, Graham Street [now Bourne Street]  Still open
- St Michael, Chester Square  - Still open
- St Philip, Buckingham Palace Road . Separate parish 1890. Closed 19?? [war damage??] United with previous 1953.
- St Paul, Wilton Place [Knightsbridge]  - Still open
- St Peter, Eaton Square  - Still open
- St Peter, Buckingham Gate/Palace Street Chapel-of-Ease [1822?] closed 1921?
- St Saviour's (for Deaf and Dumb) Chapel, Oxford Street
- St Saviour, St George's Square, Pimlico.  still open.
- Trinity Chapel, Conduit Street  chapel of ease, closed 1875.
1. Genuki.org.uk at http://homepages.gold.ac.uk/genuki/MDX/Westminster/churches.htm
2. British History Online at: www.British-History.ac.uk
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Wikipedia Wikipedia - St_George_Hanover_Square. Adapted. Date accessed: 30 January 2014.
- ↑ London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St George, Hanover Square in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St George Hanover Square in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St George Hanover Square in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St George Hanover Square in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 John H. Chapman, The Register Book of Marriages Belonging to the Parish of St George, Hanover Square, in the County of Middlesex. Multi-volume (London, 1886). Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive (marriages 1725-1787); Internet Archive (marriages 1788-1809);fckLRInternet Archive (marriages 1810-1823); Internet Archive (marriages 1824-1837).
- ↑ 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013
|Links to Middlesex-related articles|
Acton · Acton Green St Alban the Martyr · Acton Green St Peter · Acton Vale · Agar Town · Aldersgate Street · Alexandra Park St Andrew · Alexandra Park St Saviour · Alperton · Archbishop Tenison's Chapel · Ashford · Balls Pond · Barnsbury · Bayswater · Bedfont · Bedford Chapel · Bedford New Town · Bedford Park · Belsize Park · Bethnal Green Jews' Episcopal Chapel · Bethnal Green St Andrew · Bethnal Green St Barnabus · Bethnal Green St Bartholomew · Bethnal Green St James the Great · Bethnal Green St James the Less · Bethnal Green St John · Bethnal Green St Jude · Bethnal Green St Matthias · Bethnal Green St Matthew · Bethnal Green St Paul · Bethnal Green St Peter · Bethnal Green St Philip · Bethnal Green St Simon Zelotes · Bethnal Green St Thomas · Bloomsbury St George · Bounds Green · Bow · Bromley All Hallows · Bromley St Gabriel · Bromley St Leonard, St Andrew · Bromley St Michael and All Angels · Bromley St Leonard · Brompton · Brondesbury Christ Church · Brondesbury St Anne · Brookfield St Anne · Brookfield St Mary · Brownswood Park · Buckingham Palace Road · Burleigh Street · Bush Hill Park St Mark · Bush Hill Park St Stephen · Camden New Town St Paul · Camden Town · Camden Town St Michael · Campden Hill · Charterhouse · Charterhouse St Mary · Charterhouse St Mary with Charterhouse St Thomas · Charterhouse St Thomas · Chelsea All Saints · Chelsea Christ Church · Chelsea St Andrew · Chelsea St John · Chelsea St Luke · Chester Square · Chiswick St Mary Magdalene · Chiswick St Michael · Chiswick St Paul, Grove Park · Chiswick St Nicholas · City of London Lying in Hospital Finsbury · Clapton Christ Church · Clapton Park All Saints · Clapton Park All Souls · Clapton St James · Clay Hill · Clerkenwell St John · Clerkenwell St James Pentonville Chapel · Clerkenwell St Mark · Clerkenwell St Paul · Clerkenwell St Peter · Clerkenwell St Philip · Clerkenwell St James · Close of the Collegiate Church of St Peter · Colnbrook · Cowley · Cranford · Cricklewood St Michael · Cricklewood St Peter · Cubitt Town · Dalston Holy Trinity · Dalston St Bartholomew · Dalston St Mark · Dalston St Philip · Davies Street St Anselm · DeBeauvoir Town · Drury Lane · Duchy of Lancaster · Ealing Christ Church · Ealing Common · Ealing Dean · Ealing St James · Ealing St Paul · Ealing St Peter Mount Park · Ealing St Stephen, Castle Hill · Ealing St Mary · East Acton · East Bedfont · East Finchley · East India Docks · East Smithfield Liberty · East Twickenham · Edgware · Edmonton St Adhelm · Edmonton St Mary · Edmonton St Michael · Edmonton All Saints · Edmonton Weld Chapel · Endell Street · Enfield Chase · Enfield Christ Church, Trent Park · Enfield Jesus Chapel · Enfield St George · Enfield St James · Enfield St Luke · Enfield St Andrew · Feltham · Finchley Christ Church, North End · Finchley Holy Trinity · Finchley St Luke · Finchley St Paul, Long Lane · Finchley St Mary · Finsbury Park · Finsbury, City Road St Clement, Middlesex · Finsbury City Road St Matthew · Finsbury St Luke Old St · Finsbury St Paul · Fitzroy Square St John · Fitzroy Square St Saviour · Friern Barnet · Friern Barnet All Saints · Friern Barnet St Peter Le Poer · Fulham All Saints · Fulham Christ Church · Fulham Fields · Fulham St Alban · Fulham St Augustine · Fulham St Clement · Fulham St Dionis, Parson's Green · Fulham St Etheldreda · Fulham St James, Moore Park · Fulham St John, Walham Green · Fulham St Mary Stamford Brook · Fulham St Mary, North End · Fulham St Matthew · Fulham St Oswald · Fulham St Peter · General Lying in Hospital, Lambeth · Golder's Green St Michael · Gray's Inn · Gray's Inn Road · Gray's Inn Road St Jude · Great Marlborough Street · Great Stanmore · Great Windmill Street · Greenford · Greenhill · Hackney Wick · Hackney St John · Hadley · Haggerston All Saints · Haggerston St Augustine · Haggerston St Andrew · Haggerston St Chad · Haggerston St Columba · Haggerston St Mary · Haggerston St Paul · Hammersmith Holy Innocents · Hammersmith St John the Evangelist · Hammersmith St Luke · Hammersmith St Mary · Hammersmith St Matthew · Hammersmith St Peter · Hammersmith St Saviour · Hammersmith St Simon · Hammersmith St Stephen · Hammersmith St Paul · Hampstead All Souls · Hampstead Christ Church · Hampstead Emmanuel, West End · Hampstead Garden Suburb · Hampstead Road · Hampstead St Paul · Hampstead St Stephen · Hampstead St John · Hampton St Mary · Hampton All Saints · Hampton Hill · Hampton Wick · Hampton Royal Chapel · Hanger Lane St Anne · Hanover Chapel · Hanwell St Mark · Hanwell St Melitus · Hanwell St Mary · Hanworth · Harefield · Haringay · Harlesden All Souls · Harlesden St Mark · Harlington · Harmondsworth · Harrow · Harrow Weald · Harrow on the Hill · Hatch End · Haverstock Hill Holy Trinity · Haverstock Hill St Andrew · Hayes · Hayes St Anselm · Headstone · Hendon All Saints, Childs Hill · Hendon Christ Church · Hendon St Alphage · Hendon St Barnabas · Hendon St Paul Mill Hill · Hendon St Mary · Heston · Heston and Isleworth · Highbury Christ Church · Highbury New Park · Highbury St Saviour · Highbury Vale · Highgate · Highgate All Saints · Highgate Rise · Highgate St Augustine · Hillingdon · Hillingdon East · Hillingdon St Andrew · Hillingdon West · Holborn, St Andrew · Holborn St Alban · Holborn St George the Martyr · Holborn St John the Evangelist · Holloway Emmanuel, Hornsey Road · Holy Trinity Minories · Homerton · Homerton St Luke · Hornsey Christ Church, Crouch End · Hornsey Holy Innocents · Hornsey Rise · Hornsey Road · Hornsey St George · Hornsey St Luke · Hornsey St Peter · Hornsey St Mary · Hounslow · Hounslow Heath · Hounslow St Luke · Hounslow St Stephen · Hoxton Christ Church · Hoxton Holy Trinity · Hoxton St Andrew · Hoxton St Anne · Hoxton St John · Hoxton St Mary · Hoxton St Peter · Hoxton St Saviour · Ickenham · Isleworth · Isleworth St John · Islington All Saints · Islington Holy Trinity, Cloudesley Square · Islington St Andrew · Islington St Bartholomew · Islington St James the Apostle · Islington St John the Baptist · Islington St Jude, Mildmay Park · Islington St Mary · Islington St Mary Magdalene, Holloway Road · Islington St Matthew · Islington St Matthias, Caledonian Road · Islington St Michael · Islington St Paul, Balls Pond · Islington St Peter · Islington St Philip · Islington St Stephen · Islington St Thomas · Kensal Green St John · Kensal Green St Jude · Kensal Rise · Kensal Town · Kensington Gore · Kensington St Barnabus · Kensington St Clement · Kensington St Cuthbert, Earls Court · Kensington St Helen · Kensington St John the Baptist · Kensington St Matthias, Earls Court · Kensington St Philip, Earls Court · Kensington St Mary Abbots · Kentish Town St Barnabas · Kentish Town St Benet and All Saints · Kentish Town St Martin · Kentish Town St Silas · Kentish Town St John the Baptist · Kilburn Holy Trinity · Kilburn St Augustine · Kilburn St John the Evangelist · Kilburn St Luke the Evangelist · Kilburn St Mary · Kilburn St Paul · King Square · King's Cross · Kingsbury · Knightsbridge All Saints · Knightsbridge Holy Trinity · Laleham · Liberty of Saffron Hill, Hatton Garden, Ely Rents and Ely Place · Liberty of the Rolls · Limehouse St John the Evangelist · Limehouse St Peter · Limehouse St Anne · Lincoln's Inn · Lincoln's Inn Fields · Lisson Grove · Little Greenford · Little Stanmore · Littleton · London Docks · Lower Edmonton · Lower Holloway · Lower Homerton St Luke · Maida Hill · Mayfair · Mile End New Town All Saints · Mile End New Town All Saints with St Olave · Mile End New Town St Olave · Mile End Old Town Holy Trinity · Mile End Old Town St Luke · Mill Hill St Paul · Millwall · Monken Hadley · Munster Square · Muswell Hill St James · Neasden cum Kingsbury · New Brentford · New Kentish Town · New Southgate · Noel Park · Norlands · North Audley Street · North Hammersmith · North St Pancras · Northolt · Northwood · Northwood Emmanuel · Norton Folgate · Norwood · Notting Hill All Saints · Notting Hill Christ Church · Notting Hill Holy Trinity, Latimer Road · Notting Hill St Clement · Notting Hill St John · Notting Hill St Mark · Notting Hill St Michael and All Angels · Notting Hill St Peter · Oakley Square · Old Artillery Ground · Old Brentford · Old Brentford St Paul · Old Ford St Mark, Victoria Park · Old Ford St Paul, Victoria Park · Old Ford St Stephen · Old Street St Mark · Old Tower Without · Onslow Square · Paddington All Saints · Paddington Christ Church · Paddington Emmanuel, Harrow Road · Paddington Holy Trinity · Paddington St James · Paddington St John · Paddington St Luke · Paddington St Magdalene · Paddington St Mary · Paddington St Michael and All Angels · Paddington St Michael and All Angels with All Saints · Paddington St Paul · Paddington St Peter · Paddington St Saviour · Paddington St Simon, Saltram Crescent · Paddington St Stephen · Palmer's Green · Pell Street · Pentol Street · Pentonville · Perivale · Pimlico St Barnabas · Pimlico St Gabriel · Pimlico St Mary, Graham Street · Pimlico St Peter · Pinner · Ponder's End · Poplar Christ Church · Poplar St Frideswide · Poplar St Matthias · Poplar St Saviour · Poplar St Stephen · Poplar All Saints · Portland Place · Portland Town · Portman Square · Portman Square St Paul · Potter's Bar · Precinct of St Katherine · Precinct of the Savoy · Primrose Hill · Queen Charlotte's Hospital Marylebone Rd, Hammersmith · Ratcliffe · Regent Square · Regent's Park · Regent's Park Christ Church, St Pancras Christ Church, Albany Street · Roxeth · Ruislip · Saffron Hill · Shacklewell · Shadwell · Shepperton · Shoreditch Holy Trinity · Shoreditch St Agatha · Shoreditch St James, Curtain Road · Shoreditch St Michael · Shoreditch St Leonard · Somers Town · Somers Town Christ Church · South Acton · South Hackney Christchurch · South Hackney St Augustine · South Hackney St Michael and All Angels · South Hackney St John of Jerusalem · South Hampstead · South Hornsey · South Kensington St Augustine · South Kensington St Jude · South Kensington St Luke · South Kensington St Peter · South Kensington St Stephen · South Mimms · South Mymms Christ Church · South Mymms St Mary the Virgin and All Saints · South Street · South Street · South Tottenham · Southall Green · Southall Holy Trinity · Southall St George · Southgate · Southgate Christ Church · Southgate St Andrew · Southgate St Michael at Bowes · Spitalfields Christchurch · Spitalfields Christ Church with St Mary and St Stephen · Spitalfields St Mary · Spitalfields St Stephen · Spring Grove · St Andrew Holborn · St Anne Soho · St Barnabas in St Marylebone · St Botolph Without Aldgate · St Botolph Without Aldgate with Holy Trinity Minories · St Botolph without Aldersgate · St Clement Danes · St Dunstan in the West · St George Hanover Square · St George in the East Christ Church · St George in the East St George · St George in the East St Mary · St George the Martyr · St Giles Cripplegate · St Giles in the Fields · St James Piccadilly · St John the Evangelist in the East · St John's Wood All Saints · St John's Wood St Stephen · St Katherine by the Tower · St Margarets on Thames · St Martin in the Fields · St Mary Le Strand · St Marylebone · St Marylebone All Saints · St Marylebone All Souls · St Marylebone Christ Church · St Marylebone Holy Trinity · St Marylebone St Andrew · St Marylebone St Barnabas · St Marylebone St Cyprian · St Marylebone St Luke, Nutford Place · St Marylebone St Mark · Marylebone Road · St Marylebone St Mary · St Marylebone St Matthew · St Marylebone the Annunciation, Bryanston Street · St Pancras · St Pancras Christ Church · St Pancras Holy Cross · St Pancras Old St Pancras · St Pancras St Bartholomew · St Pancras St Mark · St Pancras St Mary Magdalene · St Pancras St Saviour · St Paul Covent Garden · St Sepulchre · Staines · Staines St Peter · Stamford Brook · Stamford Hill St Anne · Stamford Hill St Bartholomew · Stamford Hill St John, Vartry Road · Stamford Hill St Thomas · Stanwell · Staple Inn · Stepney Christ Church · Stepney St Antony · Stepney St Augustine · Stepney St Benet · Stepney St Faith · Stepney St Matthew · Stepney St Paul · Stepney St Peter · Stepney St Philip the Apostle · Stepney St Thomas · Stepney St Dunstan · Stoke Newington All Saints · Stoke Newington Common · Stoke Newington St Andrew · Stoke Newington St Faith · Stoke Newington St Matthias · Stoke Newington St Olave · Stoke Newington St Mary · Stonebridge · Stratford Bow St Mary · Stroud Green · Sudbury · Sunbury · Sunbury on Thames · Teddington · Temple Fortune · Tollington Park St Anne · Tollington Park St Mark · Tollington Park St Saviour · Tothill Fields · Tottenham All Saints · Tottenham Christ Church, West Green · Tottenham Holy Trinity · Tottenham St Benet Fink · Tottenham St Mary the Virgin · Tottenham St Paul · Tottenham St Philip · Tottenham All Hallows · Tower of London · Tufnell Park · Turnham Green · Twickenham Common · Twickenham St Mary the Virgin · Twyford Abbey · Tyburn · Upper Charlotte Street · Upper Chelsea · Upper Chelsea St Jude · Upper Chelsea St Saviour · Upper Chelsea St Simon · Upper Clapton · Upper Edmonton · Upper Edmonton St John · Upper Holloway All Saints · Upper Holloway St John · Upper Holloway St Paul · Upper Holloway St Peter · Upper Holloway St Stephen · Upper Sunbury · Upper Teddington · Upper Westbourne Park · Uxbridge Moor St John the Evangelist · Uxbridge St Andrew · Uxbridge St Margaret · Vauxhaul Bridge Road · Walham Green St John · Wapping · Wealdstone · Wembley · Wembley Park · West Acton · West Brompton · West Drayton · West Hackney · West Hampstead St Cuthbert · West Hampstead St James · West Hampstead St Luke · West Hampstead The Trinity · West Hendon · West Holloway St David · West Holloway St Luke · West Twyford · Westminster Abbey or the Collegiate Church of St Peter · Westminster Christ Church, Broadway · Westminster St Andrew · Westminster St Anne · Westminster St James · Westminster St James the Less, Upper Garden Street · Westminster St John the Evangelist · Westminster St Luke · Westminster St Margaret · Westminster St Mary, Crown Street, Soho · St Mary Under Croft · Westminster St Matthew · Westminster St Stephen · Westminster St Stephen's Royal Chapel · Whetstone · Whitchurch · Whitechapel St Jude · Whitechapel St Mark · Whitechapel St Mary with St Jude · Whitechapel St Paul with St Mark · Whitechapel St Paul, Dock Street · Whitechapel St Mary · Whitefriar's · Whitehall Park · Whitton · Willesden · Willesden Green · Willesden St Andrew · Willesden St Matthew · Wilton Place · Winchmore Hill · Winchmore Hill Holy Trinity · Woburn Square · Wood Green · Woodside Park · Yiewsley