St John's in the Vale, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to St John's in the Vale, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St John's in the Vale, Cumberland|
|Hundred||Allerdale below Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Cockermouth|
|Parish registers: 1776; For more records see Crosthwaite|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1776|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
JOHN'S, ST., a chapelry, and, with Castlerigg and Wythburn, a township, in the parish of Crosthwaite, union of Cockermouth, Allerdale ward below Derwent, W. division of Cumberland.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for St. John's-in-the-Vale, 1776-1981
Bishop's transcripts for St. John's-in-the-Vale, 1775-1889
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Castlerigg St John on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.