St Margaret at Cliffe, Kent Genealogy
Guide to St Margaret at Cliffe, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Margaret at Cliffe, Kent|
St Margaret at Cliffe St Margaret of Antioch Kent
|Poor Law Union||Dover|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1564|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
St Margaret at Cliffe is a civil parish in the Dover district of Kent. See St Margaret-at-Cliffe Wikipedia which includes Nelson Bay and St Margaret's Bay.
The Ancient Parish of St Margaret of Antioch at Cliffe includes St Margaret's Bay; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you
The parish church is dedicated to St Margaret of Antioch. Established on a Saxon foundation by the Priors of Dover, who controlled the parish until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1536, and completed in 1150, it is of similar design to that in Creully in Calvados, Normandy, and built with Caen stone from that region with the integration of local split flint. As it is unusual for a small village to have such a large church it could be that the Benedictine monks used the church and surrounding village as a summer retreat.
"In the parish records there is an interesting account dated 1696 of a shepherd who, being lost one night, fell over the cliff and was mortally injured, but he lived long enough to bequeath to the parish five roods of land to pay for the tolling of a curfew bell at 8 p.m. from Michaelmas to Lady Day in order to warn travellers if they walked too near the edge of the cliff........Throughout the following centuries the villagers were concerned in smuggling. It is said that the church tower was used by a parish clerk to store the gear which was required to haul the contraband up the cliffs......" Extract from "St Margaret's Bay The Piccadilly of the Sea." This was originally written by J Harris Stone and published in 1910.
The Parish Church of St Margaret of Antioch, Hight Street, St Margaret-at-Cliffe has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See Edward Hasted St Margaret at Cliffe, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 412-418. Date accessed: 7 November 2013..
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
St Margaret at Cliffe, Kent Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|St Margaret at Cliffe, Kent Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306863.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers
MARGARET, ST., at Cliffe, a parish, in the union of Dovor, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3½ miles (N. E.) from Dovor. 
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 253-257. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.