St Nicholas, Devon Genealogy
Guide to St Nicholas, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Nicholas, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Newton Abbot|
|Registration District||Newton Abbot|
|Parish registers: 1616|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1633|
|Probate Court||Pre-1848 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter; Post-1847 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
NICHOLAS, ST., a parish, in the union of NewtonAbbott, hundred of Wonford, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon, 5½ miles (E. by S.) from NewtonAbbot. This parish is bounded on the east by the Teign, and lies opposite to Teignmouth, with which it communicates by a bridge over the river; it comprises the pleasant village of Shaldon, and the greater part of the hamlet of Ringmore.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241329.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
St Nicholas (see Shaldon) on GENUKI
- Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 415-416. Date accessed: 3 November 2013.