St Nicholas, Newcastle upon Tyne (later Newcastle Cathedral)
The parish of St Nicholas, claimed jurisdiction over the other parishes in the city, All Saints, St Andrew's and St John's, and also over Gosforth. In most regards, however, they were all independent parishes.
The interior of the church was badly damaged by the Scots during their brief occupation of the city in 1640. In 1644, during the nine-week siege by the Scots, the enemy threatened to demolish the church spire, but were deterred when Scottish prisoners were placed in the lantern tower.
St Nicholas' Church became a cathedral in 1882 when the diocese of Newcastle was formed.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/193 Date: 1762-1855 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The image collection awaits further engineering and improved access to the parish transcripts
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Newcastle, St Nicholas: Records of baptisms 1558-1974, marriages 1574-1965 and burials 1574-1859 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1558-1927, marriages 1574-1965, banns 1754-1977 and burials 1574-1859 can also be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1558-1877 and marriages 1574-1837 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1574-1812 and banns 1651-1676, 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1558-1812, marriages and burials 1574-1812 and of monumental inscriptions can be seen at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript covering marriages 1574-1812 is also available at Gateshead Central Library, Local Studies Dept