St Osyth, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from St Osyth, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to St Osyth, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Osyth, Essex
Sr Peter and St Paul, St. Osyth, Essex .jpg
Sr Peter and St Paul, St. Osyth, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tendring
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1666
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Osyth
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

St Osyth or Osyth (St.), is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Tendring district, Essex. The village is on a creek of the river Colne, 1¾ of a mile N of the coast, 2¾ miles S E of Brightling sea railway station, and 11 miles S E of Colchester; it was once known to the Saxons as Chich; and has a post-office under Colchester. The parish contains also the hamlets of New Frowick and Wigborough-Wick. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Swedenborgians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Osyth, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
St Osyth, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1666-1920
1676-1892
1676-1916
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

St Osyth on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted 17 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.