Gunby St Nicholas, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Gunby St Nicholas, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gunby St Nicholas, Lincolnshire
St+Nicholas Gunby Lincolnshire.JPG
St+Nicholas Gunby Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beltisloe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; Separate registers exist for Gunby St Nicholas beginning 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562; Separate records exist for Gunby St Nicholas beginning 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Beltisloe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

STAINBY (St. Peter), a parish in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Beltisloe, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 2 miles (W.) from Colsterworth. [1]

GUNBY ST. NICHOLAS, a parish in Grantham district, Lincoln; on the SW verge of the county, 6 miles SW of Corby r. station, and 10 S of Grantham. Posttown, Colsterworth, under Grantham. Acres, 66s. Real property, £1, 669. Pop., 164. Houses, 34. The manor belongs to the Earl of Dysart. The living is a rectory, annexed to the rectory of Stainby, in the diocese of Lincoln. The church comprises nave and chancel, with later English tower. Charities. This parish should not be confused with Gunby St Peter, Lincolnshire elsewhere in the county and Diocese of Lincoln.[2]

Gunby St Nicholas is an Ecclesiastical parish created in 1733 from Gunby Ancient Parish and Stainby Ancient parish.

It is located close to the borders with Leicestershire and Rutland, the closest town being Grantham although it is within 15 miles of Oakham, Rutland and Stamford. To the east is North Witham, Lincolnshire, to the north Stainby and to the west Sewstern, Leicestershire.

The village church is dedicated to St Nicholas. The village name is Scandinavian and means village of Gunnhildr. The full name of the village is Gunby St Nicholas.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Gunby St Nicholas Par 1 and Stainby Par 1 will identify available images.

Search FamilySearch Catalogue  StainbywithGunby St Nicholas

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Stainby/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.