Stalbridge, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stalbridge, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Stalbridge

Guide to Stalbridge, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stalbridge, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brownshall
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Sturminster
Registration District Sturminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1690
Bishop's Transcripts: 1737
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

STALBRIDGE (St Mary), a small town, a parish, and a sub-district, in Sturminster district, Dorset. The town stands on an affluent of the river Stour, adjacent to the Somerset and Dorset railway, 6 miles E by N of Sherborne. This place, (in Domesday book at the time of the Conquest of William the Conquerer was written Staplebridge, belonged to Sherborne Abbey. There is an Independent chapel and a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Stalbridge, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1690
1691
1690
Images
1690-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1737-1880 Ancestry[6] 1691-1837 findmypast[7]
1692-1837 Joiner[8]
1701-1808 findmypast[9]
1790-1812 Ancestry[10]

Stalbridge, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[11]
UKGA = UK Genealogy Archives - free
Stalbridge, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1691-1812

UKGA 1690-1921
1690-1918
1693-1950

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241342.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 10 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  7. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  8. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 4 July 2012.
  9. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  11. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.