Stamford Baron St Martin, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Stamford Baron St Martin

Guide to Stamford Baron St Martin, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stamford Baron St Martin, Lincolnshire
Stamford Baron St Martin Lincolnshire.jpg
Stamford Baron St Martin Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nassaburgh or Peterborough Liberty
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Stamford
Registration District Stamford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1711
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Peterborough
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

MARTIN'S, ST., Stamford-Baron, a parish, in the borough and union of Stamford, soke of Peterborough, N. division of the county of Northampton, ½ a mile (S. E.) from Stamford. The church is a handsome structure in the later English style, erected by a bishop of Lincoln in the fifteenth century.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stamford St Martin or Stamford Baron is in the county of Northamptonshire and the Diocese of Peterborough, although it is located within the Borough of Stamford. The parish records are therefore deposited at Northamptonshire Record Office.

Lincolnshire Archives has purchased microfiche copies of the parish registers of baptisms, marriages and burials for Stamford St Martin covering the following dates:
Baptisms 1572-1902
Marriages 1582-1957
Burials 1572-1860
These microfiche are kept in the 'Miscellaneous Fiche' cabinet in the Search Room, together with a detailed list of the microfiche.

Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Stamford Baron (St. Martins) Baptisms 1572-1902 Marriages1572-1957 Burials 1572-1860 are deposited registers at Northampton Records Office, Wootton Hall Park, Northampton,NN4 8BQ Sarah Bridges, County Archivist and Heritage Services Manager: archivist@northamptonshire.gov.uk

Stamford Baron St Martin, Lincolnshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
Stamford Baron St Martin, Lincolnshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1669-1705, 1813-1902 1668-1705, 1813-1908 1668-1705, 1813-1860

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stamford Baron St Martin

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438760.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Stamford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Stamford/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.
  2. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.