Stammheim parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Stammheim parish

Guide to Stammheim parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Stammheim includes the civil parishes of Oberstammheim, Unterstammheim, Waltalingen in Canton Zürich, as well as the town of Nussbaumen in Canton Thurgau.

History

Place Names

Locations within Stammheim

Nussbaumen (Kanton Thurgau)

Berg mit Rossbuck
Buck

Bürglen
Frostenegg

Nussbaumen
Säge

Steinegg
Tobelbrunn

Oberstammheim

Alte Post *
Bahnhüsli
Felderhof
Feldern
Fürstgrüt
Hard

Hardhof
Heimat
Lindenhof
Moos
Neuhof bei Waltalingen

Neuhof bei Wilen *
Oberstammheim
Säleten
Sankt Anna
Sankt Annahof

Seehalde
Seehof
Stegacker *
Talmühle
Wilen *

Alte Post, Neuhof bei Wilen, Stegacker, and Wilen belong to the church parish of Neunforn.

Unterstammheim

Amtacker
Diessenhoferweg
Furtmühle
Kollbrunn

Neubrunn
Neuhof
Oberbrunn
Riet

Stangen
Steigbühl
Ulmerhof

Unterstammheim
Weierhof
Wieshof

Waltalingen

Buck
Eichhof
Girsberg

Guntalingen
Neuhof
Riedmühle

Schloss Girsberg
Schloss Schwandegg
Schwandegg

Sommerau
Sonnenhof
Waltalingen

Surrounding Parishes

Basadingen (Thurgau)
Diessenhofen (Thurgau)
Hüttwilen (Thurgau)
Neunforn (Thurgau)
Ossingen
Schlattingen (Thurgau)
Trüllikon
Wagenhausen (Thurgau)

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Stammheim:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 2 36
1637 1185141 2 723
1640 1185143 2 89
1647 1185147 2 547
1649 1185147 2 587
1657 1185179 1 38
1663 1185179 2 191
1670 1185153 1 885
1678 1185157 1 1
1682 1185160 2 161
1689 1185162 1 35
1695 1185166 2 49
1709-1710 1185169 2 969
1729 1185176 1 381
1764 1185176 1 381

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Stammheim families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Stammheim prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland