Standground, Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Standground, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norman Cross
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Peterborough
Registration District Peterborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Yaxley
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Standground, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Standground, is a parish, with a village, in the district of Peterborough, 1¼ mile SE of Peterborough railway station. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Standground, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Standground, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1748-1876
1754-1875
1748-1862
HUNT

1701-1900
NBI

1701-1900

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

As this parish is mostly in Huntingdonshire, the parish records are listed there in the FamilySearch Catalog. The Anglican parish church records are as follows:

  • Parish registers for Stanground: 1538-1876 | FHL Film Numbers 1040751, 1040752, 1040753, 1040754
  • Biship transcripts for Stanground: 1604-1858 | Film Numbers 1041712, 1041713
  • Parish registers for Facet: 1641-1876 | Film Number 1040984
  • Bishop transcripts for Facet: 1660-1857 | Film Number 1040923


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288838.



Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain 

Websites

Standground on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.