Stanhope, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stanhope, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Stanhope, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanhope, Durham
Stanhope St Thomas the Apostle Co Durham.jpg
Stanhope St Thomas the Apostle Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Weardale
Registration District Weardale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1609
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

STANHOPE (St. Thomas the Apostle), a small town, a parish, and the head of the union of Weardale, in the N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham. There are meeting-houses for dissenters in various parts of the parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stanhope, Durham Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
STANHOPE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/239 August 1762-1833 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. These include some transcripts for June 1771-1812 for St John's Chapel -in-Weardale. There is also a separate series of transcripts for St John's Chapel- in- Weardale. Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/264 Date: May 1774-1840 Related material at DULASC: Some St John's Chapel-in-Weardale transcripts June 1771-1812 are included with Stanhope transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/239 The St John's Chapel-in-Weardale transcript images have not yet been loaded and await engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1609-1974 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/St).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.


Poor Law Unions

Weardale Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stanhope on Genuki

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.