Stanton and Newhall, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Stanton and Newhall, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanton and Newhall, Derbyshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Youlgreave
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bakewell
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

STANTON, with Newhall, a township, in the parish of Stapenhill, union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 3 miles (S. S. E.) from Burton. The Methodists have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stanton and Newhall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Stanton and Newhall St John (1833) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
Non-Conformist Churches
  • General Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241291.


Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stanton and Newhall on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 186-192. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.