Stanton by Dale, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Stanton by Dale, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stanton by Dale, Derbyshire|
Stanton by Dale St Michael & All Angels Derbyshire
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1604|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
STANTON-BY-DALE (St. Michael), an ancient parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 2½ miles (N.) from Ilkeston. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
The civil registration transferred to Ilkeston Registration district on 1 April 1938
Stanton by Dale St Michael and All Angels Ancient Parish was united with Dale Abbey, Derbyshire parish about 1960
Stanton by Dale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Stanton by Dale St Michael (1604) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
Derbyshire Record Office reference D2179 has deposited registers Bap 1604-1979 Mar 1605-1961 Burials 1605-1993 Banns 1857-1992
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1856Mar1662-1857 Burials 1662-1856 Missing Bap Mar & Bur 1847, 1849/1850
- Methodist New Connexion
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241294.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stanton by Dale on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 186-192. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.