Stapenhill, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stapenhill, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Stapenhill, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stapenhill, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartshorn
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Burton upon Trent
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

STAPENHILL (St. Peter), an ancient parish, in the union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 1 mile (S. E.) from Burton. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. Other places in the parish include:Stanton and Newhall, Caldwell, and Cauldwell. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. See Staffordshire BMD

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district after 1904 included this parish.

Church records

Stapenhill St Peter included Newhall, Derbyshire until 1850. It includes Stanton and the chapelry of Caldwell, Derbyshire Part of the parish transferred to Staffordshire in 1894

Staphenhill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[2]
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Stapenhill St Peter (1679) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN

1771-1825


FS PR's
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE

Derbyshire Record Office has deposited registers reference D 1282 Bap 1679-1992 Marr 1679-1989 Bur 1679-1957 Banns 1754-1806, 1823-1886, 1895-1988

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1869 Mar 1663-1837 Burials 1663-1869

Non-Conformist Churches
  • General Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.


Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stapenhill on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 192-195.Date accessed: 17 May 2013.
  2. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
]