Stapleford Abbotts, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Stapleford Abbotts, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stapleford Abbotts, Essex|
Stapleford Abbots St Mary Essex
|Poor Law Union||Ongar|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1800|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Stapleford-Abbots, is a parish in Ongar district, Essex; 5¼ miles N W of Romford railway station. The post town is, Romford.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Stapleford Abbotts, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Stapleford Abbotts, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241374.
Poor Law Unions
The existing vestry minute-books for Stapleford Abbots cover the period 1777-1899.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stapleford Abbotts on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)