Stark County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stark County, North Dakota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png North Dakota Gotoarrow.png Stark County

Guide to Stark County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Dickinson
Organized: February 10, 1879
Parent County(s): the Dakota Territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Billings  • Dunn  • Grant  • Hettinger  • Mercer  • Morton  • Slope
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaStarkCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Stark Map.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Stark County was organized on May 25, 1883, and became a county in the state of North Dakota on November 2, 1889.[2] Its county seat is Dickinson.[3]

County Courthouse

Stark County Courthouse
51 3rd St E; PO Box 130
Dickinson, ND 58602-0130
Phone: 701.264.7639
Stark County Website

Stark County North Dakota Courthouse.jpg
 

Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1898, burial records, divorce and court records from 1887 and naturalization records 1887-1963;
Register of Deeds has land records.

Stark County, North Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1887 1893 1873 1873 1873 1890

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

10 Feb 1879: Stark County created from the Dakota Territory.

9 Mar 1883: old Dunn and Hettinger Counties set off.
13 March 1885: Adams County set off.
1897: Absorbed old Dunn County.
1905: new McKenzie County set off.
1908: Dunn County set off.

County seat: Dickinson[1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[4]

Cities
Unincorporated communites


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Stark County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information
  • Odessa Digital Library has cemetery transcriptions for cemeteries in and around Stark County, providing name, date of birth, and date of death where available.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 2,304
1900 7,621 230.8%
1910 12,504 64.1%
1920 13,542 8.3%
1930 15,340 13.3%
1940 15,414 0.5%
1950 16,137 4.7%
1960 18,451 14.3%
1970 19,613 6.3%
1980 23,697 20.8%
1990 22,832 −3.7%
2000 22,636 −0.9%
2010 24,199 6.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.


Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Stark County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.


  • The Banat German Hungarians who came to southwestern North Dakota : wiver sach (women's stuff). 1998?. By Theresa K. Bogner Montee-Nelson. Dickinson, North Dakota : T.B. Montee-Nelson. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Early history of Custer Trail in Stark County, North Dakota. n.d. By G. S. Cryne. n.p.: n.p.:. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Stark County heritage and destiny. 1978. By Stark County Historical Society. Bismarck, North Dakota : Taylor Pub. Co.. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I


Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Stark County Historical Society
PO Box 146
Dickinson, ND 58602-0146
Telephone: 701-456-6225

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/ndak/stark/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sargent_County,_North_Dakota accessed 10/25/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Stark County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stark_County,_North_Dakota, accessed 14 November 2016.