| State Historical Society of Missouri
- State Historical Society of Missouri
University of Missouri Ellis Library
1020 Lowry Street
Columbia, Missouri, 65201-7298
- With additional centers at Cape Gerardeau, Kansas City, Rolla, St. Louis, and Springfield.
Hours and holidays: Tuesday-Friday 8:00-4:45 ; Saturday 8:00-3:30 ; Missouri holidays
Map, parking, and public transportation:
Internet sites and databases:
- The State Historical Society of Missouri Columbia Research Center contact, hours, location, campus navigation and parking, group visits and tours, policies and procedures.
- About SHSMO become a member, donate, events, exhibitions, research requests, and visitor information.
- Merlin online catalog. Search by keyword, title, author, or journal title.
Good genealogy collection with historic Missouri manuscripts and reference books</ref>, collection of 460,000 books, 500,000 manuscripts, 150,000 archival records, 2,900 maps, databases, art, census, digital collections, newspapers, oral history, and photographs. This Society has research centers at Cape Gerardeau, Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla, St. Louis, and Springfield.
- Genealogy Guides introduction, getting started, adoptions, African American, birth and death, census, land, marriage, military, and Native American.
- Research Guides and Resources art, census, digital collections, ILL, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, oral history, photos, reference, research requests, rights and reproductions.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the State Historical Society of Missouri, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- Mid-Continent Public Library Midwest Genealogy Center, Independence, a great American genealogy collection: censuses, MO federal land sales, penitentiary, St. Louis fur trade, Civil War, passenger lists, plantations, American Indians, city directories, newspapers, Draper Manuscripts, and KY taxes. 
- National Archives at Kansas City federal censuses 1790–1930; selected military service indexes, pension indexes, passenger lists, naturalizations, photos, adoptions, vital records, land, and Indian records.</ref>
- Missouri History Museum Library, St. Louis, has regional history sources, St. Louis, Missouri, the Mississippi and Missouri Valleys, the Louisiana Purchase, American West: indexes, guides, catalogs, photos, genealogy workshops. Many records of Missouri settlers from Illinois.</ref>
- St. Louis County Library, a Missouri collection including the National Genealogical Society, and St. Louis Genealogical Society collections, online databases, federal censuses, births, deaths, cemeteries, church records, military records, naturalizations, newspapers, wills, African American records, yearbooks, and access to LDS microfilms.
- Boone County Health Department, Columbia, births since 1920, and deaths since 1980.
- Boone County Clerk of the Circuit Court, Columbia, has marriage, death, probate, land, and court records from 1821. 
- Boone County Recorder of Deeds, Columbia, has marriage, and land records since 1821  and military discharges.
- Boone County Medical Examiner, Columbia, suspicious deaths.
- U.S. District Court, Western District of Missouri, Jefferson City, recent federal civil, criminal, and bankruptcy court records.
- Boone County Historical Society, Columbia, about, membership, museum, meet the author, concerts, hall of fame, contact, Maplewood House, Art Gallary, Village at Boone Junction, latest news.
- Genealogical Society of Boone County and Central Missouri, Columbia, join, events, library, indexes, area deaths, GSCM Journal, bios, cemeteries, surnames, pioneers, and museum.
- Daniel Boone Regional Library, Columbia, has Ancestry.com, Heritage Quest Online, key Internet links, guides, and how-to-find births, marriages, and deaths.
- Columbia Missouri Family History Center has premium online services for free, can offer research suggestions, and can order genealogical microfilms from the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
- Missouri Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Jefferson City, birth, marriage, divorce, and death certificates.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Audrain, Callaway, Cole, Cooper, Howard, Moniteau, and Randolph.
- Kansas City Public Library Missouri Valley Special Collections, The Missouri Valley Room has a great genealogy collection for Missouri and Kansas with biographies, periodicals, genealogies, diaries, photos, scrapbooks, and newspapers of the Kansas City area. 
- Missouri State Archives, Jefferson City, has court, land, military, death records, federal censuses, county and municipal records, photos, penitentiary, and manuscript records. Birth and death record index since 1883 is online; birth records 1883-1895; marriages 1827-1937.
- Missouri State Genealogical Association has donated their books the the Midwest Genealogy Center.
- National Personnel Records Center (NPRC), St. Louis, federal government employee and military personnel records starting 1917.
- St. Louis Mercantile Library, early newspapers, railroads, inland waterways, county records, biographies, and genealogies. A premier library for Missouri research.</ref>
- St. Louis Public Library has an Obituary Index for the years 1880–1927; 1942–1945; 1992–2006, family histories, passenger lists, Heritage Quest, and Gateway Family Historian publication.
- Roman Catholic Archdiocese of St. Louis Office of Archives and Records parish christenings, confirmations, marriages, and deaths.
- Community of Christ Library and Archives, Independence, books, periodicals, letters, and diaries of the of the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints/Community of Christ.
- Concordia Historical Institute, St. Louis, Department of Archives and History of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.
- Episcopal Diocese of Missouri Archives, St. Louis, a library, extensive document and photograph collections, and parish registers.
- Missouri United Methodist Archives, Fayette, historical materials on Methodism in Missouri emphasizing ministers.
- Repositories in surrounding states: Arkansas, Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.
- Allen County Public Library, Ft. Wayne IN, has a premier genealogical periodical collection, genealogies, local histories, databases, military, censuses, directories, passenger lists, American Indians, African Americans, Canadians.
- Dallas Public Central Library, outstanding genealogical collection with records for more than Texas, including Missouri, Oklahoma, the South, Mid-Atlantic, and New England states.
- Newberry Library, a large Chicago repository with genealogies, local histories, censuses, military, land, indexes, vital records, court, and tax records mostly from the Mississippi Valley, eastern seaboard, Canada, and British Isles.
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Columbia in The State Historical Society of Missouri (accessed 26 February 2016).
- ↑ Collections and Research in State Historical Society of Missouri (accessed 7 March 2014).
- ↑ William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 67. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ About the Midwest Genealogy Center in Mid-Continent Public Library (accessed 5 May 2010).
- ↑ Online guide to St. Louis sources in the History and Genealogy Department in St. Louis County Library (accessed 2 February 2016).
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 9th ed. (Logan, Utah: Everton Pub., 1999), 229. WorldCat 812163213; FHL Book 973 D27e 1999.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ed., Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 393. Ancestry digital copy ($); WorldCat 55947869; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ Eichholz, 383 and 393.
- ↑ Introduction to LDS Family History Centers in Family History Research Wiki (accessed 29 February 2016).
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Vital Records in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 2 Feb 2016).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 47 and 67.
- ↑ Special Collections in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 7 March 2014).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 134.
- ↑ Genealogists in St. Louis Public Library (accessed 3 February 2016).
- ↑ Genealogy Center Collections in Genealogy Center (accessed 27 February 2015).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 107.
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 39.