Steeple Langford, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Steeple Langford, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Steeple Langford, Wiltshire|
|Hundred||Branch and Dole|
|Poor Law Union||Wilton|
|Parish registers: 1674|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
LANGFORD, STEEPLE, or Great Langford (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Wilton, hundred of Branch and Dole, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wilts, 5¾ miles (N. W.) from Wilton. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Steeple Langford, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Steeple Langford, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464193.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-23. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
- 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.