Steigen, Nordland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Steigen, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngNordland County Gotoarrow.pngSteigen

Guide to Steigen, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Steigen clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Steigen with Bogen chapel and Leiranger (Ledingen) until 1900.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1686-1914.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

1686-1727, 1748-1874, 1879-1894, 1917-1934

Steigen / Leiranger: 1821-1916

Steigen / Steigen: 1821-1905

Census Records

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 clerical census for Steigen clerical district includes the parishes of Steigen, Leiranger and Hamarøy and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet aswell as in a searchable index.
  • Manntall 1701: The 1701 census for Steigen (Engel) clerical district includes the parishes of Steigen, Leiranger and Hamarøy and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet as well as in a searchable index.
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Steigen clerical district includes the parishes of Steigen and Leiranger and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet.
  • 1815 folketelling for Steigen prestegjeld (Nordland). The 1815 census for Steigen clerical district includes the parishes of Steigen and Leiranger and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

68 Aalstad, 70 Berg, 48 Bogøen, 88 Brunes, 89 Brunvær, 81 Burøen med Valsvær, 85 Bø, 46 Dybvik, 57 Dyping, 58 Dypingspollen, 89 Eidet, 83 Engelvær, 38 Finvik, 84 Flatøen, 50 Fure, 63 Grønning, 43 Gyldenvandet, 65 Hakvaag, 93 Hammer, 67 Haug, 41 Holkestad, 54 Holmaak, 69 Kalvedalen, 52 Knedal,   53 Knedalsaasen, 76 Korsaksel-Steigen, 40 Kvalnes, 32 Kvandal, 34 Kvandalsmoen, 33 Kvandalstranden, 59 Lapgamslet, 74 Laskestad, 38 Laukbakken, 48 Lervik, 47 Lervikbogen, 35 Liland, 92 Lillesæter, 94 Lund, 84 Løvøen, 90 Mjelde, 60 Mortenstranden, 72 Myklebostad, 94 Oksøen, 82 Røsøen, 64 Røtnes nordre, 62 Røtnes søndre, 42 Skaanland, 91 Skagstad, 51 Skjelvereid, 45 Skjenaust, 39 Skotsfjord vestre, 36 Skotsfjord østre, 44 Skotsfjordmark, 61 Skranstad, 80 Steigberget, 77 Steigen, 55 Steinsland, 66 Storsæter, 37 Under Aasen, 75 Vaag, 71 Vik, 49 Vinsnes, 95 Øksnes

Probate Records

1713-1877: Probates are found in Salten judicial district.

1701-1832: Clerical probates are found in Salten Deanery

Historical Society

Steigen Historielag

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names